Tough Yesterday!

Yesterday was a really tough day in our household.  Danielle had probably one of the worst seizures that she has ever had.  She woke up not feeling well and complained about “feeling different” than she had ever felt before.  It wasn’t really dizziness, but yet she said it was kind of like that. 

 She got ready for school, but her “weird feeling” continued.  As we gathered to pray she stood up abruptly and headed toward our bathroom.  Then out of nowhere her hands flew into the air and she began to seize.  It lasted for about four minutes total.  It seemed like a lifetime.  Her breathing stopped for some seconds and we called 911.  Their response was awesome.  They were here in a flash, but by the time they arrived she began to come out of it.

She is at home from school again today.  We really didn’t want to start the semester like this, but I guess it’s not our call to make.  The school has been very understanding.  The principle told me yesterday to tell Danielle not to worry about school, but to get well.  The drumline instructor just listened to me cry and said that he was there for our whole family.  I am so glad for their understanding and concern.

Ellen and I covet your prayers for Danielle and for our whole family.  As is always after one of these episodes, Danielle struggles with trying to understand why.  She asks, “Why is God doing this to me?”  She asks, “I know He can take these away, why won’t He?”  She said last night, “I know He has a plan, but I still wonder why.”

Can I be brutally honest with you?  I wonder these same things.  I don’t think it’s doubt, but it’s like the Psalmist prayed, (Psalms 22:1-2 NCV)  “My God, my God, why have you rejected me? You seem far from saving me, far from the words of my groaning. {2} My God, I call to you during the day, but you do not answer. I call at night; I am not silent.” 

Yet, when we get right down to it, we can only go to Him.  The very next Psalm begins, (Psalms 23:1 NCV)  “The LORD is my shepherd; I have everything I need.”  He is the source.  That’s why we continue to pray.  I told Danielle that we could not give up on the only one with the power to remove her seizures.   

I will continue to pray!  I will continue to trust!  I will continue to lean on my family, friends, blog family, and church family!  All the while looking forward to a time when there will be no more tears, temptation, pain and suffering.

12 responses to “Tough Yesterday!

  • Greg England

    So sorry to hear about this. You are all in my prayers. Hopefully you’ll receive more prayers than platitudes!

  • Meowmix

    Keith, I’m so sorry. I pray often for Danielle and for you and the rest of your family. Will continue to do so.

  • Sonny

    Just spent time in prayer for you all, especially Danielle. Understanding is difficult for us all at times in our lives. I pray for her health and her understanding in what’s going on in her life. Thanks for giving me the opportunity to pray

  • harleyrider

    Lifting your family up in prayer. Someday in the sweet by and by, we WILL understand.

  • Matt Dabbs

    Sounds like a real time of struggle. Those always bring with them the potential to grow closer to God and family. Never stop being honest with God about how you feel. He does listen.

  • Tabitha

    This has been so hard on us all but I know Danielle will be ok and that God does have a reason…even though it’s hard to see it right now.

  • Laura

    You are all in our prayers! I am so sorry to hear about this. You know as well as anyone that I too struggle with things that God allows to continue in my life that I just don’t understand. But like you, there’s nothing else to do but trust in the only one who can do anything about it and cling to the scriptures. Jeremiah 29:11 is one of my favorites in times of not understanding why He doesn’t seem to be listening or answering my prayer the way I want it to be answered. Keep the faith! Things will work out!! Hug Danielle & the rest of the family for me! Love you all!!!!

  • Randy

    I’m with you brother. We’d take all the pain and suffering in a moments notice in exchange for our child to have peace.

  • laymond

    God bless you and your family.

  • Elaine Caudle

    You and the family are in my prayers daily. Will say an extra prayer for Danielle.

  • Cecil Walker

    The fact that Danielle (and you) questions God in all of this demonstrates a deep relationship. We rarely pour out our deepest sorrows or anger upon people we barely know. You know Bro that there are a bunch of folks coast to coast and beyond that are trying to hold up Danielle’s arms. May you see some results and soon. God bless you guys.

  • Steve

    God bless you and your family, my brother. No pain is like child/daughter hurting pain. God can received anything we can give him, our hurts, our doubts, our anger . . . I pray that he will bring you and your daughter, your family to a place of peace and healing.

    Peace.

Leave a Reply

