Christian Passions: Intentional Spiritual Growth

Being intentional is something that we sometimes forget about when it concerns our walk with Christ. We just allow ourselves to go on “automatic” and expect ourselves to line up with ourselves and with God. Part of being passionate for God is turning our haphazard ways of following Jesus into intentional ways. That is, Christianity must be lived “on purpose” or with purpose. The Christians of the New Testament book of Acts from the beginning of their walk for Christ employed the principles of Jesus in that walk. From the outset of the church they were seeking a deeper spirituality as individuals and as a group. They had a love that superseded anything that was selfish and gave up themselves for others.

Their life was a daily walk in the spiritual realm. They acknowledged the power of the Holy Spirit through miracles, prayer, fasting, and in the way they treated one another.

They placed their faith at the center of their lives and their sense of meaning, purpose, and direction came from their connection to God and His commands. He was the most important thing in their lives and they were not ashamed to tell it, walk it, and live it.

Our goal ought the be the same. No, we won’t look the same as they, or even do some of the things they did–that’s not the point. The point here is that we need to be more intentional in our spiritual growth as we live for Him each day.

7 responses to “Christian Passions: Intentional Spiritual Growth

  • Steve

    Right on target, bro.

    I would add to living intentionally, living with accountability. I need close friends to hold my feet to the fire every now and then to keep me on the Jesus’ path.

    Peace.

  • Greg England

    I am intentional about my spiritual growth. I am right on all the issues. I worship with the only approved five acts. I don’t allow any of them to overlap. I take communion only on Sundays. I go to Sunday School. The church I attend has the correct and approved biblical name. I think I’ve pretty well got it together in the spiritual growth department! 🙂

  • Steve

    Do you think you could get Greg some help??? Before Pepperdine???

    Peace.

  • KeithDavis

    I don’t think there is any help for him Steve, especially with that short a time frame.

  • Paul Martin

    Sounds true to me. In the Cloud of Unknowing, the anoymous monk writing in the early middle ages stresses the will and desire for God. Buddhist tradition speaks in similar terms of “Right Effort” in its “Eightfold Path” – which, incidentally, is highly consistent with what we think of as Christian morals. (I’m not a Buddhist, but have found that Buddhism offers many insights.)

  • Sonny

    Greg, I didn’t know you went to Memphis school of preaching? You sound just like them. And yes, he does need help before Pepperdine 🙂

  • John Telgren

    I think Greg is employing satire in his response above. It is hard to describe “spiritual growth” and what it is. Most of what people describe as spiritual growth are actually the excericises that contribute toward it. It seems to me that spiritual growth is learning to love God. Every else in our Christian walk is based on this. The disciplines and practices that we engage in contribute toward this, but are not ends in themselves. Sadly, since this has become somewhat of a fad today, it seems that in some cases the excercises are ends in themselves.

    Some good thoughts here. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

