Waiting In Line!

You guys pray for Brandon.  He plays his first game tonight for the JV Baseball team.  He is a freshman and probably won’t get to play much, but I told him to just ride it out, see what happens, and wait his turn.  That’s the way things work at Muscle Shoals High School.  As they get older, they play more.  It’s a kind of waiting in line.

Life is kind of like that isn’t it.  It seems that we are always waiting in line.  We wait at the grocery store.  We wait in line to get our hair cut.  We wait to get an oil change.  We wait at the restaurant.  I told someone the other day that I was convinced that when we get to heaven, we will have to wait in line to get in.  Anytime I say that I immediately think that it really doesn’t matter so long as I’m in that line!

Some people have had some great suggestions for ways to occupy your mind in lines.  People pray, read, or just mess with other people.  What are some ways you cope with lines that might be helpful to the rest of us?

7 responses to “Waiting In Line!

  • cwinwc

    We’ll be praying for Brandon tonight. Tell him to be patient, stay in the game mentally, and be ready to contribute when called upon.

    As far as the “line advice” goes, how about:
    This comes from being a teen and waiting in lines at the newly opened Disney World –
    We would constantly look back at our original position and say, “Hey, remember when we were way back there.”

  • Blizzardoflarz

    Ways I cop with long lines:

    1>I catch up on phone calls.
    2>Call my wife.
    3>Pray
    4>Think about what needs to be done before I go home.
    5>Play with my Palm Treo.
    6>Check out the new gums on the market.
    7>Try to think if I forgot anything.
    8>Balance the checkbook.
    9>Daydream.
    10>Think of new ways to speed lines up.

    There’s my top 10!

  • Sonny

    Keith, are you going to have Sid’s sermon last Sunday on Creekside’s website? And would you send me his blog address?
    Thanks

  • Meowmix

    Mostly when in line, I concentrate on not chewing my fingernails! Sometimes I’m patient, and sometimes I’m not. But lines are, decidedly, one of the frustrations of life. On the positive side, when I know I’m going to be in line a long time (like at the Dept. of Motor Vehicles), I take something to read. But daydreaming is nice, too………..

  • Steve

    Here are my top things to do while in line.

    Make race car noises when anyone gets in line.

    Blow your nose and offer to show the contents of your kleenex to other people in line.

    Grimace painfully while smacking your forehead and muttering: “Shut up, all of you just shut UP!”

    Whistle the first seven notes of “It’s a Small World” incessantly.

    Sell Girl Scout cookies.

    Shave.

    Crack open your briefcase or purse, and while peering inside ask: “Got enough air in there?”

    Offer name tags to everyone getting in line.

    Lean over to another person in line and whisper: “Noogie patrol coming!”

    Greet everyone getting in the line with a warm handshake and ask them to call you Admiral.

    One word: Flatulence!

    Do Tai Chi exercises.

    Stare, grinning, at another person for a while, and then announce: “I’ve got new socks on!”

    Give religious tracts to each person.

    Meow occasionally.

    Bet someone that you can fit a quarter in your nose.

    Frown and mutter “gotta go, gotta go” then sigh and say “oops!”

    Show other people in line a wound and ask if it looks infected.

    Carry a cooler that says “human head” on the side.

    Stare at another person for a while, then announce “You’re one of THEM!” and move to the end of the line.

    Start a sing-along.

    Play the harmonica.

    Shadow box.

    Listen to candy bars with a stethoscope.

    Draw a little square on the floor with chalk and announce to the others in line that this is your “personal space.”

    Bring a chair along.

    Take a bite of a sandwich and ask another person: “Wanna see wha in muh mouf?”

    Blow spit bubbles.

    Announce in a demonic voice: “I must find a more suitable host body.”

    Carry a blanket and clutch it protectively.

    Stare at your thumb and say “I think it’s getting larger.”

    If anyone brushes against you, recoil and holler “Bad touch!”

    Peace.

  • Keith Davis

    I can’t wait to get in line again after Steve’s comments!! WOW!! “Row, Row, Row Your boat…”

  • Bobby Valentine

    Praying.

    Shalom,
    Bobby Valentine

Leave a Reply

