Our Body’s A Temple?

When Jesus cleansed the temple He meant business.  He purged the evil from the house of God in order to return it to it’s proper use–a house of worship.  The scriptures tell us that our bodies are the “temple of the Holy Spirit.”  When we abuse this temple with bad stuff, whether it be physical or spiritual, we are abusing the place that God says that He dwells on this earth.   That puts it in a whole new perspective for me.

I receive an email each day from Jordan Rubin.  You can subscribe to it here.  He is the author of The Maker’s Diet.  His life’s story is a testimony to God’s way of taking care of our bodies.  You can read about it at the above link.  His daily email gives helpful hints about being healthy in our eating, exercise, and spirit.  Most of them are good, but today’s was especially good.  I wanted to share it with you.

“Paul tells us: (1 Corinthians 6:19-20 NCV) ‘You should know that your body is a temple for the Holy Spirit who is in you. You have received the Holy Spirit from God. So you do not belong to yourselves, {20} because you were bought by God for a price. So honor God with your bodies.’ Primary to optimal health is how we treat our physical body — what we eat, how much and how well we sleep, and how much stress we encounter. After all, it’s hard to focus on the spiritual when your body is crying out for help, whether due to disease, obesity, or lack of energy. What steps have you taken this week to treat your body as a sacred and important place?”

WOW!  That last question really hit me hard.  I’m afraid I haven’t been a very good steward.  Reading this (something I’ve known for a long time, but just haven’t done anything about it) has made me take a real look at myself.

We preach often against the abuse of a lot of things in our world–drugs, alcohol, sex, the media, are a few.  Many times I hear people joke about gluttony.  We say, “You’ve stopped preaching and gone to meddling now.”  I need someone to “meddle” with me about this. 

I have for several years owned a blood pressure cuff and use it quite often.  I have never had a high blood pressure reading until recently.  That has sent a warning sign to me that I need to get healthier.  Isn’t it sad that we wait until something appears to be wrong before we really take it seriously.  I ask your prayers for me as I try my best to live a more healthy lifestyle. 

I know that we are to long for heaven and I do, but one thing I would like to do is to be able to raise my kids and see my grandchildren one day and while doing so be able to be active in their lives.  I hope that’s not selfish nor wrong for me to want that.  One thing is for sure.  I realize that if I don’t start taking better care of myself, I will not live long enough to see that happen. 

7 responses to “Our Body’s A Temple?

  • harleyrider

    You can join me each morning for a walk. I find I do so much better when I am getting fresh air & exercise. Of course you would have to get up at 4:10am. I dont believe I see any lights on at your house at that time, actually I dont see lights on at many houses at that time.

  • Greg England

    Jan and I walk every day, used to walk twice a day but the colder mornings reduced us to afternoons, and they can be almost cold these days. I did pick up a book this week about an entirely different approach to eating. It’s not about dieting, but about our attitude toward eating … supposedly from a Christian perspective. I was interested in it because friends of ours were quite overweight and went through some seminar that was not about dieting, but about attitude toward food. They both slimmed down by as much as 50 pounds, and he tells me the things that always were problematic to him no longer tempt him at all. I just wish there were an EASY way to get in shape and stay in shape!

  • Meowmix

    Thanks for this reminder, Keith. As a “borderline” diabetic, daily exercise is crucial to my health. While working, it was easier to walk, because I would take my breaks and walk in the lobby of my building. I needed a nudge to work it into my retirement routine, especially since my daily readings are reflecting the lack of exercise. Sometimes I’m not very smart! 🙂 Prayers for you.

  • Steve

    Good, healthy words, Keith. I often roll around in self-pity as to how sad my current workout is compared to my more youthful days.

    I felt so bad yesterday that I actually went out in the 70 degree sunshine and worked in the yard. Does wonders for the attitude and the body.

    I find the words of diet ads humorous, especially the fine print. “If you take this diet pill, exercise five times a week and eat a healthy diet, you will lose weight-guaranteed.” What I would lose in that situation is the diet pill!

    Peace.

  • Blizzardoflarz

    I ate some co-co puffs and watched TV. 🙂 Seriously, I hear ya. When the ‘ol body starts to need more trips to the shop, we can’t trade them in. We do have to take better care of our bodies. I think I’ll try walking in the mornings. It’s been pretty nice out lately.

  • cwinwc

    Lately my “Temple” has been growing, growing too much.
    BTW – My son Steven hit his first career High School homerun last night. He ended up going 2 for 3, played 2nd, pitched 2 innings not allowing any hits for runs with 3 k’s, and played leftfield. His pic made the local paper. It was a good night for him.

  • Matt Dabbs

    Food can be an amazing problem and is probably the least talked about addiction because it is something we all need. But, like and addiction, it can be used in an attempt to fill a void in our lives. Someone once said that people love people and use objects. Addicts love objects and use people. This can be said of how people see or use food just as much as smoking or crack. We just don’t talk about that very much.

Leave a Reply

