Encouraging One Another

The Christian walk is difficult at best.  Paul talks about it as a war within him in Romans 7.  Peter tells us that Satan is a roaring lion.  Then there’s the world that is constantly against anything Christian.  I don’t know about you, but I need you–every one of you to help me in my walk.  Not only you, but especially my immediate family and certainly those people with whom we worship week to week.

I never ceases to amaze me how that knowing all that we do about the adversary and the difficulty of walking with God in this present world, the first thing people do when they begin to walk away from God is to stop meeting together with the church.  They leave the one thing that can recharge their spiritual batteries as much as, or maybe more than, anything else in the world.

I believe that God has placed within us a desire to need Him more than anything else, but there is also the desire to need one another and human companionship.  He said it from the beginning–“It is not good that man should be alone.”

Hebrews tells us (Hebrews 10:24-25 NLT)  “Think of ways to encourage one another to outbursts of love and good deeds. {25} And let us not neglect our meeting together, as some people do, but encourage and warn each other, especially now that the day of his coming back again is drawing near.”    This verse has been used as a whip for so many preachers to “whip” the brethren into not missing church services.  I just want to remind us that being together is important–yes necessary–not because God will be angry at us if we miss, but we miss out on encouragement and love, both the giving of it and receiving it when we make a habit of not meeting together.

Thanks to you my blog family who is always there to encourage even when I’ve been away from the blog world for a few days.  I love you all!

4 responses to “Encouraging One Another

  • neva

    In one of my psychology classes at LCU, the statement was made that the greatest universal need of every man, woman and child is love. I thought how cool it was that I John tells us “God is love” He created us to need Him most. As we become more like Him, we find ourselves becoming a more loving people–exactly what the world needs most!
    Great thoughts.

    Peace
    Neva

  • Meowmix

    Love you, too, Keith. I missed all of you a lot while I was computer-less.

    I love that version’s rendition of Hebrews 10:24, 25. I’ve never read that version. I especially like “outbursts of love and good deeds!” We can’t make it without each other, and isn’t it wonderful that our Father fixed it where we don’t have to!

  • Donna

    It is amazing as people recounted their early memories of church over on Trey’s blog most of us as kids loved to be at church….then we felt we HAD to be at church…I am finally getting back to loving it, the community part of it and realizing that I really do NEED it.

    But, I need this community too and I love that we are here for each other.

  • Connie Lard

    Left alone, the devil can really do a number on us. Left alone, we can soon fall into despair. But, meeting together around the Table, we are reminded us of His love. We are reminded that we have forgiveness. We are reminded of the promises. We are reminded that all things really do work together for our good.

    Without Him, we’d have nowhere to go. Without Him, we’d only be broken. But with Him, together with our brothers and sisters, in the breaking of the Bread, we are healed and made strong in our broken places.

Leave a Reply

