Be Strong and Courageous

I receive a daily email from Dr. David Jeremiah who has a broadcast that airs on local radio here in the Shoals.  This guy is a tremendous speaker.  In his email this week he shared a passage of scripture that has blessed my life today and I wanted to share it with you–my blog family. 

When Joshua was commisioned to lead the Israelites into the promised land, there was something said to him by Moses that is such and encourgement to us all in our walk with the Lord.   Here is the passage:  Deuteronomy 31:1-8 Then Moses went and spoke these words to all the Israelites: ‘I am now one hundred twenty years old, and I cannot lead you anymore. The Lord told me I would not cross the Jordan River; the Lord your God will lead you across himself. He will destroy those nations for you, and you will take over their land. Joshua will also lead you across, as the Lord has said. The Lord will do to those nations what he did to Sihon and Og, the kings of the Amorites, when he destroyed them and their land. The Lord will give those nations to you; do to them everything I told you.  Be strong and brave. Don’t be afraid of them and don’t be frightened, because the Lord your God will go with you. He will not leave you or forget you.’

Then Moses called Joshua and said to him in front of the people, ‘Be strong and brave, because you will lead these people into the land the Lord promised to give their ancestors, and help them take it as their own.  The Lord himself will go before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forget you. Don’t be afraid and don’t worry.'”

5 responses to “Be Strong and Courageous

  • Elaine Caudle

    I used to listen to David Jeremiah but haven’t been able to find him in this neck of the woods. I really enjoyed listening to him.

    I have been living by the last part of that quote for many days now. It is the first time in my life that I have put my complete faith in God and I haven’t worried about the outcome.

  • That Girl

    Don’t be afraid and don’t worry. Be strong and brave. I love those words. Even an tough independent cuss like me likes to know that there is someone looking out for me and I don’t need to worry a bit!

  • Meowmix

    Those words “be strong and courageous for I am with you” resonates through the Old Testament and carries into the New Testament. Sometimes it gets a little murky around us and we forget, but what a wonderful reminder. Thanks.

  • Swindle

    Keith Lancaster I believe wrote a song about that tittle is “Be Strong And Courageous”. That is easy to say but tough to do every day. I love the conviction that Keith has when he preaches. God says I will help you. God says I am on your side. Yet we doubt him sometimes. Whew! I am about to start preaching! LOL

  • Jerry Falling

    Keith – it is good to find you. thanks for the post – David Jeremiah is great.

Leave a Reply

