January: The Month To Go Home

Two years and two days ago was a very tragic time in our lives.  It was the day I watched my dad take his last very hard breath on this earth.  Two years ago today we buried him.  It was hard to let him go, but he was hurting so much and literally fighting for every breath.  So, like Paul said, we “do not sorry as those who have no hope.”  We are confident in Jesus, whom my dad loved, to save him and that someway we will be reunited at home with him again someday.

Last night my mom called and told us that my grandmother looked as though she was trying to die on us.  She is in the nursing home and is 88 years young.  She is a tough bird, that’s for sure.  This morning she is still breathing, but that’s about it.  We will be going back to the home today.  She to is in Christ.  We are just waiting for her to go one to be with the Lord and in the place of her fathers and mine.

Whatever all of that means, to me it means this–that January is a month to go home.  My father, my grandfather, and now my grandmother.  Leaving this world, according to the Word, is a blessing for those saved by the blood of the Lamb.  It is a homecoming or as some say, a “home-going.”  It is a time that we all shall travel through one day unless Jesus comes first.  It is something that should be longed for by those of us who profess Jesus name. 

By the time some of you read this she probably will be gone, but who knows.  Just pray that if she is not that the angels will come and carry her away.  She needs to be at peace at home with the Lord.  God bless you all.

6 responses to “January: The Month To Go Home

  • That Girl

    I hate for your family to be sad but it’s a little exciting to think that she will finally get the prize that we’re all waiting for!

    Peace for your family.

  • Sonny Owens

    Just last night in Bible study as we were talking and praying about several who are (very) sick at this time it was said that there comes that time when dieing is better than living. When dieing is easier than living it is time for a saint to go home. I know your grandmother. She was and is a good lady. Very enjoyable to be around. I haven’t seen her in a long time. The last time was at ECM. She needs to make that journey. She needs to step into eternity. All I ever knew about her is that she was busy doing good in the body of Christ. I am praying for you and especially your mom.

  • Meowmix

    My prayers are with your grandmother and your family. God bless.

  • Donna

    I pray for peace for you all.

  • Greg England

    Your grandmother was a sweet and favorite person in mine and Janice’s life many years ago when I was preaching at Kilburn. You have our love and prayers.

  • cwinwc

    We seem to be kindred spirits my brother. Your Grandmother was an important person in 2 people’s lives (Greg and Janice) that are very important to me. Then you were mentored by Joyce Massey and her husband and now Joyce is a member of our church. Then you ministered to me last May in Long Beach.

    You have my love and my prayers for your sweet Grandmother and your family. God bless.

Leave a Reply

