Home At Last

Yesterday morning, January 11, my grandmother died at the age of 88.  I appreciate so much all of the nice things people have said, both in this blog and to us personally.

My memories of my grandmother are all good.  I don’t remember a time when she ever raised her voice at me.  I never remember a time when she made me feel unimportant or insignificant.  She was proud of my becoming a preacher and introduced me to everyone as her preacher grandson.

My earliest remembrances of her go way back.  I was the oldest of seven grandchildren.  I remember her giving me syrup and butter.  I remember dinners at her house.  I remember riding horses in the little pasture next to her house and in horse shows as a child.  I remember many singings, gospel meetings, and homecoming services at Centerhill Church of Christ, back in the day when people would show up in the hundreds to hear good singing and good preaching. 

I remember my grandmother as a strong independent woman.  She outlived two husbands.  She lived through WWII and the Depression.  She has seen our country go from horseback to flying jet planes to walking on the moon. 

She was a part of the women’s ministries at Woodlawn Church of Christ.  She would drive her friends back and forth to church events and activities.  She spent time visiting people in the hospital and nursing homes until she became  a patient herself.  Even many of her friends are there or have gone on to be with the Lord.

I will miss my grandmother.  She was a wonderful person.  Greg and I had a conversation once just before his mother’s funeral service.  We talked aout the afterlife and the many different versions that people have about what happens.  I would love to know more about what happens exactly, but I’ll have to be like the rest of us and wait to see it for myself.  I have come to believe that no matter what is going to happen exactly, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that Jesus will be there, God will be there, and the Holy Spirit will be there.  And no matter what happens exactly, I know that it will beat the daylights out of this place of pain and sorrow.

Thanks again for all of your prayers and concerns.

6 responses to “Home At Last

  • Meowmix

    I am so thankful you have such warm memories of your grandmother. May God’s comfort and peace rest with you and the rest of your family.

  • Greg England

    It will be a wonderful homecoming for sure!! Great memories of a great woman of faith. Jan and I would pick her and Mamie up for church almost every Sunday for 7 years and in the winter months, she would look at the leafless trees and bushes and say, “This is the saddest time of the year.” She died during the saddest time of the year only to awaken to the brightest Glory of the universe!!

  • Donna

    She sounds like a wonderful woman. I am sure her light is shining bright on the other side….

  • Neva

    Praying safe passage through this lifestorm, my brother. Grandmothers are such a blessing to us, I am sorry for the loss of yours.

    Blessings
    Neva

  • Swindle

    Just to tell you guys some about this woman. Went to the funeral home last night and it was a 1 hour wait to view. There were people everyone just loving one another. So much togetherness and unity was displayed there that night. Mrs Omie, Go Rest High Sister. We Love all of you. Swindles

  • Sonny Owens

    Keith, I am sorry that I missed the visitation and the funeral. I thought of you and prayed for you as it was time for the funeral. I, too, have spoken at my grandmother’s funeral and Jackie’s grandmother’s funeral. (and many other grandmother’s funerals) What an honor it is to be chosen to share your thoughts at such an important time. I know that she was proud to have you (and Randal) to share her life with others.

Leave a Reply

