Class Rings and Tears

Today my father-in-law came over with a book that had pictures of class rings in it.  Purchasing my children’s class rings is something that he has decided to do.  What a gift that is to them and to us and we are truly grateful.  He bought Tabitha’s a few years ago and it’s now time for Danielle to graduate.  That seems almost like a dream.   It just can’t be that she is about to be 18 years old and ready to start college.

Most of you know that Danielle is in home school now and will not be able to walk across the stage with her friends at Muscle Shoals’ graduation.  You can read about it here if you don’t know about it already.  As appreciative as we are about the home school availability, that’s going to be different and somewhat tough for her.  To make matters even more difficult, we found out a couple of days ago that the senior prom at her high school is the same night as her graduation.  Therefore, none of her friends will be able to attend her graduation.  After discussing that last night at Creekside in class with our church family, it was pointed out that with all that shes’ been through, she will be so strong in her future life.  I know that’s true, but it still hurts in a way.  She is taking the news quite well.  That shows me that she is even growing now.

Watching her look through that class ring book brought a tear to my eye.  I don’t really know why.  I think it’s a tear of pride because I’m so proud of the steps she’s making in life already.  I think part of it was a tear of pain because she has gone through so much.  Part of it could be that she is growing up and that’s really hard to watch.  Whatever the case, we are truly thankful for Danielle and the joy she has brought to our lives.  She really is an example of strength to us all.

6 responses to “Class Rings and Tears

  • Donna

    It will mean more to her than it does to most….

  • Greg England

    Danielle has taught us a lot through her ordeals. Those class rings are very special to a senior … and remain very special for about a year. Neither of my kids wore theirs much beyond high school. I never wore mine at all (always hurt my hand when people would shake hands w/ me) and when it was stolen during a home burglary a couple of years ago, ironically I felt somewhat saddened. Go figure??

  • That Girl

    I don’t really value a lot from my high school years. I enjoyed college so much more. Danielle will be blessed through a lot of things in this world… I just hope that she will appreciate it all, the good and bad.

  • cwinwc

    That Girl said it. It seems like the world turns on a dime when you’re in high school. The person that Danielle is becoming will have an inner strength beyond her years due to the trials she has faced.

  • Meowmix

    As others have already said, Danielle will be a strong woman, beautiful inside and out. I think of her frequently and pray for her continued strength.

    I still have my senior ring. I still wear it from time to time when I’m feeling nostalgic. 🙂

  • Steve

    Certainly one of the blessings God brings us is the opportunity to see our kids grow in strength and character.

    Peace to you all.

Leave a Reply

