Our Dog Spike

spike.jpgThe answer was always “No” when my wife asked for another dog.  I would tell her, “We have an outside dog, we don’t need one inside.”  I wasn’t just trying to be cruel or show a macho attitude.  I just remember what it was like losing the last inside dog we had and didn’t want to go through that again.

Well, a year ago this past Christmas I broke down and went to the pound and brought home a shy little puppy.  I put him in a box and gave him to my wife for Christmas.  He has been a joy ever since.  He’s no longer a quiet little thing, but has turned into a joyful little companion for the whole family.

july-4-2007-002.jpgI received an email recently that I thought summed up what Spike has meant to our family and taught me a great deal about how animals (dogs in particular) can bring us joy.  It’s called “A Dogs Purpose.”  I’m only going to share the “lessons learned from dogs” portion of the email.  I hope you enjoy these.

Remember, if a dog was the teacher you would learn things like:
When loved ones come home, always run to greet them.

Never pass up the opportunity to go for a joyride.

Allow the experience of fresh air and the wind in your face to be pure
ecstasy.

Take naps.

Stretch before rising.

Run, romp, and play daily.

Thrive on attention and let people touch you.
Avoid biting when a simple growl will do.

On warm days, stop to lie on your back on the grass.

On hot days, drink lots of water and lie under a shady tree.

When you’re happy, dance around and wag your entire body.

Delight in the simple joy of a long walk.

Eat with gusto and enthusiasm. Stop when you have had enough.

Be loyal. Never pretend to be something you’re not.

If what you want lies buried, dig until you find it.

When someone is having a bad day, be silent, sit close by and nuzzle
them gently.

4 responses to “Our Dog Spike

  • Meowmix

    I love it! These little furry creatures bring SO much joy into our lives. These lessons are all good, but my favorite is “don’t bite when a simple growl will do!” Or maybe my favorite is “if what you want lies buried, dig ’til you find it.” But probably, my favorite should be “eat with enthusiasm, but stop when you’ve had enough!” 🙂 I like Spike. Thanks for sharing him.

  • That Girl

    I think I’ll work on taking just one day to live a dog’s life… I can’t wait to lie in the grass!

  • cwinwc

    I remember Greg, me, and the Puckster busting a gut at Orlando International Airport as we waited for our flight to LA. Steve was reading from a book that contained “Top Ten Lists” from the Letterman Show. One of them came from a list entitled, “Top Ten Things Dogs Think.”

    #1 was:
    “What kind of great civilization could we have built if we could only resist the urge to lick ourselves.”

    Dogs, you’ve gotta love em.

  • Swindle

    Thanks Keith! MissSweetPea the cat said she was alot cuttier than the dog though. LOL Just kidding he is quite cute. Charles and Sheila Swindle

Leave a Reply

