An Amazing Man–A More Amazing God!!

Job is still one of the most amazing stories in the Word.  After losing everything “He said: “I was naked when I was born, and I will be naked when I die. The LORD gave these things to me, and he has taken them away. Praise the name of the LORD.”” (Job 1:21 NCV)  AMAZING!!  Later he is stricken with sores all over his body.  His wife tells him to curse God and die.  His reply was, “…You are talking like a foolish woman. Should we take only good things from God and not trouble?” In spite of all this Job did not sin in what he said.”  (Job 2:10 NCV) TRULY UNBELIEVABLE!!

Isn’t strange how a man can go through all of this and still praise God.  In our world is seems that I find it so hard to praise God in the smallest of troubled times.  But should we not work on it?  Shouldn’t we be ashamed when we complain about the least little thing in our life.  God help us to realize that praising God is the right thing to do in ALL circumstances.

As I get older, I don’t necessarily get any better at it, but my relationship with God is getting increasingly more important.  That means that the victories I have over Satan are much more exciting and the defeats hurt so much deeper.  I pray that I can see the wrongs in my life and correct them.  I pray that I can see Jesus in everyone more and more each day.  I give God the praise for the victories and cry out to Him in the defeats.  After all, if Job can praise God in his world, who am I to not praise Him in mine.

3 responses to “An Amazing Man–A More Amazing God!!

  • Meowmix

    I had it pointed out to me once that Scripture says “in all circumstances, give thanks,”……………….not “FOR all circumstancs”………… That gave me a new perspective.

    Job was indeed a huge example of faith and perseverence.

  • Greg England

    It’s so easy to praise God when all is going well. Job is amazing!! Paul gives us a bit of insight when he speaks of the “fellowship of the suffering of Christ.” There is a fellowship with Christ in suffering (so my mother told me) that is like none other one can experience in life. If only we could have it w/out the suffering!!

  • cwinwc

    I love the song from Job 2 – “Blessed be the Name of the Lord.”

Leave a Reply

