Refuel

In my opinion “Refuel” is very appropriately named. It truly is a time of encouragement and recharging our engines for Christ. For those of you who haven’t heard about it, Refuel is a worship experience aimed primarily at our teens. It happens once a month at various congregations in our area–about five to be more precise.

Last night we gathered at the Shoals church in Tuscumbia. What a night!! I told Ellen while we were in the middle of singing praises led by the praise team from Crosspoint church that I couldn’t understand why I was so blessed by God to be a part of such an experience. Jeremy and the folks from Crosspoint are such a blessing. He really uses his Holy Spirit-led gift to get us into lifting our hearts, hands, voices, and lives up to the throne room of our Father. The songs carried us through a wide range of emotions. We were “Shouting Hallelujah” one minute and learning to “Be Still” and know that He is God the next. I could not hold back the tears of joy that God has saved me and covered my sins with the blood of Jesus and through His grace and mercy!! It was awesome!!

I was honored to have been asked to speak last night. It was such a joy with this group of people. I love preaching and teaching when the audience will “go with you” on the journey that God has already taken you. They were hearty “laughers” which is always fun to be a part of. Then they would think along with me and even join in on the conversation. I love when the audience will participate in the sermon time. I just felt so blessed to have been a part of it.

I am thrilled that my children are able to be a part of such a wonderful Holy Spirit experience in worship. For them to be in an environment where they are free to express themselves to God is indescribable. I love the fact that they are around young people and old alike who are willing to be expressive to our God who deserves more than just the crumbs of worship!! God is a Father who desires our hearts and not some mechanized “service.”

Oh how I wished you could have been there! Maybe, if your reading this and are in the Shoals area, you can join us in May. We are meeting this Thursday to plan for May 4th at Magnolia church. We’d love to have ya!!

8 responses to “Refuel

  • Susan Brown

    Hey Keith!!!!
    Last night was GREAT!!!! I loved the singing and your message was wonderful. I was wondering if you could give a little more information on the video you referred to last night and how to get it. I am pretty sure I have heard someone else talk about them. We will be starting back through the OT again in the next month and thought the Jewish history would be very helpful as we begin our study.

  • Meowmix

    Sounds wonderful.

  • cwinwc

    It’s those kind of experiences that make me enjoy hanging out with the teens.

  • Keith Davis

    Susan,

    The videos are called NOOMA. You can go to nooma.com and check them out. You can also see the one I saw on youtube.com. Just search for Rob Bell or NOOMA either one. The video I spoke about was called, “Dust.”

  • Susan Brown

    Thanks!!!!!

  • gregengland

    Don’t look for me in May, but know that I’d love to be there!

  • Neva

    Everyone needs to refuel—and to be able to take the audience along with you–down the path you believe God has led you, is truly an amazing experience–one every speaker needs regularly.

    Blessings
    Neva

  • sonny Owens

    I will certainly be carefull how I respond. I don’t want to get everyone rilled again.
    You said, “our God who deserves more than just the crumbs of worship!! God is a Father who desires our hearts and not some mechanized “service.”

    I certainly agree that crumbs of worship are just that…….crumbs. I agree with the last part of what you said also. Worship is offered from the heart of
    the believer. It comes forth in praise and adoration to our Father.

    I will not say more.

Leave a Reply

