Family Reminiscence

I spent today doing something that I just don’t get to do very often.  I helped my mom and her three siblings work on the graves of several family members. There were aunts and uncles I don’t remember meeting.  There were the graves of my grandmother and granddad, great-grandparents (who I was fortunate to actually know), and all of there children, five of whom were little babies when they died.

I know it sounds really weird to say that I “got to” work in the cemeteries, and to be honest, I wasn’t looking forward to it very much.  Hanging out in cemeteries isn’t really not my idea of a great time.

Though there was some hard work, I had a great time listening to all of them talk about old times.  There were stories about childhood both good and bad.  There were memories of Christmases, birthdays, church stories, and stories of family times that I never knew about.  They talked about times that have long since been gone and times that have changed so drastically.  It really is amazing how far we’ve come in so many conveniences and technologies.  It’s also sad how that so much has changed in the way we do life.  It is a testimony to our spoiled rottenness how we have more things that should help our life be less stressful, and we have more stress.

We really don’t spend enough time to sit on the front porch (or back) and talk.  We don’t take enough time to notice the really important things about life.  So, for those reasons it was nice to take a trip back in time to days I’ll never see–days that have long since past into the hustle and bustle of life.

6 responses to “Family Reminiscence

  • Meowmix

    You know what else is really sobering? When YOU are the one telling the stories that the younger ones don’t remember, or remember only a few. Had some experiences with that over the last two months during my sister’s illness and spending time with nieces and nephews!!

  • That Girl

    I drove by Creekside Sunday. I was in Florence for Homecoming at Cloverdale and thought I’d see if I could find your building. Of course, that was the end of the line!

    Hey, I have some Zildjian cymbals (crash or ride, and Top Hat) left over from the ex. I’m looking to sell them but I don’t know what they’re worth. Do you know of a music store or something there that good give me a good idea?

  • Donna

    Funny that when we get older we long to hear all those stories we wouldn’t listen to when we were younger. I always loved “decoration” as a kid though. You knew something special was in the hearts of your elders when they walked through the cemetary.

  • cwinwc

    Thanks for giving us a window into your family. Hey, it seems you and I like to hang out at cemeteries and certain Funeral Homes in California.

  • Keith Davis

    Yes Terri, Creekside is the end of the line on this road. Some say we’re the “dead end” church. We would rather say, “If you’re looking for Jesus, it’s the end of your search.” Ha!!

    I will email you about the cymbals.

  • gregengland

    It may be true you are not the kind of guy to hang out in cemeteries, but I know for a fact you LOVE being in the attic of a mortuary in the southern California desert on a HOT afternoon!!

Leave a Reply

