Disappointment

Wikipedia defines disappointment as “the feeling of dissatisfaction that follows the failure of expectations to manifest.”  Do you think God gets disappointed with us?  I know that the scripture says before the flood that “He was sorry he had made human beings on the earth, and his heart was filled with pain.” (Genesis 6:6 NCV)

I don’t know if we can come close at all to that feeling until we have children.  Now, you all know that I love my children.  I blog about them all the time.  My wife and I have found that when we are out eating, just the two of us, we catch ourselves talking about the kids.  Nearly every moment of every day is spent doing something or thinking about something that has to do with our kids.  So, when I talk about disappointment and my children, please know how much I love them.

I guess that’s what makes it so hard when they disappoint.  If we didn’t care so much, it wouldn’t hurt so much.  We really set ourselves up for it don’t we.  Our expectations are sometimes too high.  We expect too much from them I suppose.  In so many ways my children set me up for it.  They are good kids.  They give us almost no problems when it comes to the kinds of things I see out there in the world that they could be into.  When I start looking at it in those terms, I feel so blessed.  So even they make it hard on us by being good most of the time.

I think God does get disappointed.  I think that because He’s a relational person–not some extra-terrestrial dictator of rules who has no feelings.  He is our “Father” after all.  We are his children.  He cares.  He expects. Therefore, I know He must feel disappointment.

The real hope in all this to me is that if He feels disappointment, He must feel victory.  When our children “get it right” and we see that, there’s no more victorious feeling than that.  I’d like to think that our God feels the same excitement for us in those rare but good victorious moments.

3 responses to “Disappointment

  • That Girl

    That was the worst punishment I ever received – my daddy saying that he was disappointed in me.

  • Marnie

    Boy! This is a very interesting idea. It has set me to thinking and I am just wondering…. what if my expectations for my children aren’t too high but misplaced altogether? In other words, I might have a certain plan that I would like for my children to follow such as college or a certain job but God may have a different one in mind that He is showing them. I can’t remember who explained Proverbs 22:6 like this to me once but it was said that where it says “train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it”, “in the way he should go” could possibly mean the way that God has planned for him. It might not necessarily mean training him from knowing right from wrong. It put that verse in a whole new perspective for me. I’m not just to train my children to do right from wrong but I have the responsibility to help them discover what God has planned for their life (not what I have planned for them) and help them follow that path. It is so hard for me to remember that they do not belong to me but simply have been intrusted to me for a short time.

    I know that this may not be the direction you were going with your blog but it’s just where my thoughts took me.

  • Meowmix

    I think He does feel that disappointment when we misbehave, as well as joy when we act like we ought to. Didn’t Jesus mourn over Jerusalem? And another passage indicates that “precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints,” which would indicate happiness over a life lived as one of His saints. It is a sobering though to know I can bring joy or sadness to the God of the universe……………………….

    Disappointment is a fact of this life. So is joy; they both make anticipation of Heaven sweet.

Leave a Reply

