What An Awesome Sunday!!

I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed today.  First, this morning we started the day with a powerful morning of worship with our family at Central in Cocoa.  We all felt like we were at home.  I just want to let all the good people from Central know how much we appreciated the warm welcome.

We were able to spend a little time with one of the most precious people on the planet–sister Joyce Massey.  Her husband Jim was one of the most intelligent men of God I have ever known–a man of great talent and a deep sense of the grace of God.  Joyce still looks the same and her smile and encouragement have not changed either.

I really enjoyed getting to meet the rest of the Cecil Walker clan.  Meeting Steven and Barbara  in person assured me of something I suspected.   Cecil, brother, you have blessed my brother.   They are a wonderful family.

It was good to see Chuck and Mike again as well.  I met these two brothers at the Pepperdine Lectures.

The highlight of the day at Central came at the end of the service when Asha (not sure of the spelling and didn’t get the last name)  walked up to the front of the auditorium and expressed a desire to be baptized.  IN her testimony she shared about her struggles a bit and said how much she appreciated the lesson and that it touched her.  Now those of you who know me know that I don’t write that to gloat or brag.  In fact, I don’t even believe that it was me.  I don’t have that kind of power.  I write it to brag on my God, who through the power of His Holy Spirit touched and convicted that little girl.  I have to tell you though that it’s a humbling experience to have God work through you.  Those of us who get to speak for God (and I don’t just mean men who stand in a pulpit, but all those who speak for Him) know how much of a thrill it is to be used by Him. Thank You Father!!

After lunch, we finished the day at the beach.  Nice sunshine, beautiful sands and water, the awesome power of waves and the surf, having my mom relax on a beach chair, the laughter of my children, the company of my wonderful wife of nearly 25 years!!  It was an awesome Sunday.  Hey, God willing, we have five more days of this stuff!  More to say later.

5 responses to “What An Awesome Sunday!!

  • Meowmix

    I KNEW your Sunday would be like that!! Have a wonderful week………..

  • gregengland

    I heard a little different twist to the story … I heard that after you preached there on Sunday, crews came in on Monday and started tearing the place apart!! Man, what did you say that they aren’t just going to cleanse the place, they’re actually replacing it??? 🙂

  • James C. Guy

    Hey Keith. Remember me from IBC (that’s what we called it). It’s been a lot of years since I’ve seen you. Where are you now?

    I found your blog through John Dobbs blog (where else?). I have a new one at http://www.heyuguys.wordpress.com.

  • Neva

    I love those kinds of days!!!
    When I taught women’s classes at Sunset International Bible Institute, I taught a woman who moved to Cocoa. I can see them as clear as day but can’t remember their names. I think his name was Don. I also know Kerry Burkey who preaches somewhere in Cocoa.
    Small world when one belongs to the Almighty, huh?
    blessings
    neva

  • Neva

    The minister’s name is Don Adkins and his wife is Brenda. They have a son, Chad, who I think is also somewhere in FL. Does Don still preach at Central?

Leave a Reply

