Use Your Gifts

I am amazed at the talent that God has given his people.  The Bible says, (1 Corinthians 12:4-7 NCV)  “There are different kinds of gifts, but they are all from the same Spirit. {5} There are different ways to serve but the same Lord to serve. {6} And there are different ways that God works through people but the same God. God works in all of us in everything we do. {7} Something from the Spirit can be seen in each person, for the common good.”

What is the “common good?”  I’m going to step out on a limb here and say that the common good is that which glorifies God and builds the kingdom.  Now, before I step up on a soap box about this, I want to make a disclaimer.  I understand that our gifts can be used both in and out of a church building.  I don’t want to pretend that all of our gifts have to be used within what we call “church.”  However, I have a sobering question for each of us.  To what degree are we using our gift or gifts toward the common good within the church?

I mean really people!  Can God be happy about our excitement in using our gifts when we only use them outside the church?  Why can’t we see the need within the church family to use what God has given us in order to help the church grow in spirit and in number.

Here are some examples of what I’m talking about.  If a person has the gift of persuasion and only uses that gift to sell cars, clothes, cameras, or cakes, is he fully using that gifts.  Why not persuade people concerning the good news?  If a person is really good at using money, why not use those smarts to help the church financially.  If a person teaches in a public school, but won’t lift a hand to teach Jesus to others in the church, is that fully using that gift?  You name the gift and many times, you’ll find people who will readily and with fervor and zeal use that gift at work or play, but won’t help in the kingdom.

I don’t know about where you attend worship, but at Creekside, we always need folks to stand and serve.  There is so much to do and so few who will sacrifice the time, effort, energy, or whatever it takes to do it.

Consider just how serious we are about the kingdom of Jesus.  We need workers to rise up and serve God within and without the walls of the church building.  When are we going to take this seriously?

3 responses to “Use Your Gifts

  • cwinwc

    You’re dead on Bro. We must somehow break the “user friendly cycle” when it comes to church folk and move into “server friendly” status.

  • Meowmix

    Keith, I couldn’t agree with you more. We are in a period of numerical growth at Berclair, due to unfortunate circumstances that caused the demise of another congregation near us. With growth comes growing pains, and we are very much in need of people to step up to teach classes, especially among the small children. For several years, there hasn’t been a need for this, because we really didn’t have but 2 or 3 small kids on a regular basis. Those who were on tap to teach or attend the nursery could handle these just fine; now, we need more help, and the appeals aren’t going very far! Although uncomfortable with it, I am probably going to volunteer for a Wednesday night class. Our church secretary who acts as a teacher, secretary AND department head is overwhelmed, so I’m going to make an effort. But, in my own small way (and it was really VERY small), I tried to do what you are talking about when I worked with our church directory and phone calling tree. Having spent 40 years in the clerical field, it was something I figured I had a few skills with and could help. But there IS so much to be done, and I so often avert my eyes and wait for “someone else” to do it.

  • Hampers

    Nice blog. I love to take and give gifts that makes me happy. ENjoyed your blog very much, Cheers 🙂 HappY Blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

