Anger Thoughts

Anger is something that affects our lives in so many ways. I have confessed many times my struggle with anger in my life. I’ve seen my temper do things to me and in me me that I never thought possible. I’ve also seen temper do things in other people that I never thought possible.  No matter if anger is expressed toward me or from me, it brings pain in my life.

Anger will make us say things we don’t mean to people that we really love, but just misunderstand in somehow. It will motivate us destroy property or even worse, relationships. It can blind us to things like forgiveness, patience, love and understanding. I’ve seen people become angry at others and not even know why.

So, what do we do about it? Here are some suggestions for me to follow.

1. Think before we speak. James 1:19-20 “My dear brothers, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, for man’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.”

2. Make forgiveness automatic. Matthew 6: 14 “If you forgive those who sin against you, your heavenly Father will forgive you. “

3. Expect and hold accountable change. Matthew 18:15 “If your brother sins, go and show him his fault….”

4. Trust in the unconditional love of God. 1 John 4:7 -10 “My beloved friends, let us continue to love each other since love comes from God. Everyone who loves is born of God and experiences a relationship with God. The person who refuses to love doesn’t know the first thing about God, because God is love—so you can’t know him if you don’t love. This is how God showed his love for us: God sent his only Son into the world so we might live through him. This is the kind of love we are talking about—not that we once upon a time loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to clear away our sins and the damage they’ve done to our relationship with God.”

God help me to control me. Romans 12:17-19 (MSG) “Don’t hit back; discover beauty in everyone. If you’ve got it in you, get along with everybody. Don’t insist on getting even; that’s not for you to do. “I’ll do the judging,” says God. “I’ll take care of it.”

4 responses to “Anger Thoughts

  • gregengland

    Good suggestions. I could have written the other part of your blog as I’ve had an explosive temper in the past and have never felt that I’ve completely mastered it! I know I’m just one incident away from showing a very ugly side of me … again. Thanks for the reminder and for showing a vulnerable side of you that relates well to me!

  • Donna

    We watched the Nooma video “Store” Sunday, which deals with anger. I don’t deal with this on a large scale, but I can get very irritated and tend to open my mouth…and wish I had not.

    Good thoughts.

  • cwinwc

    You have got to be kidding me!!
    Just kidding. 🙂
    Recently I’ve been in “anger” mode and it isn’t pretty. Not letting the “sun go down on your anger” is a good rule to practice but it isn’t needed if we can control our anger.

    I’m still a work in progress on this one.

  • Meowmix

    I have an ugly temper, too. One I’ve worked all of my life to squelch. It doesn’t manifest itself very often, but when it does, I’ve been known to see blacks spots in front of my eyes and to break things. I’m not proud of that…………just sharing. Thanks for the suggestions and for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

