How To Say, “I’m Sorry”

Most of you have heard the “Last Lecture” by Randy Pausch. He was a professor at Carnegie Mellon University. He died earlier this year of pancreatic cancer. He was an inspiration to many people. If interested, and your one of the few who have not seen it, you can see his last lecture here. He had some principles about saying “I’m sorry” that I think are so valuable and have at their core the biblical concept humility.

He says that there are three parts to an apology.

The first is saying, “I’m sorry.” Why is it so hard for us to get to this point sometimes? I think it’s pure pride.

The second part of an apology is admitting, “I was wrong.” I don’t know how many times people have said, “I’m sorry,” but really didn’t feel as though they were wrong.

The third part to an apology asks the question, “What can I do to make it right?” That’s repentance and a willingness to change. Wow! That’s really enough said about that.

2 responses to “How To Say, “I’m Sorry”

  • gregengland

    Dr. Pausch came from the perspective of a non-believer in Christ. If he can do that out of the goodness of his heart, how much more should believers be able to do this from a Christ-controlled (if we are truly believers) heart!

  • Meowmix

    I read Dr. Pausch’s book. Quite moving.

    Pride certainly enters into this. And, as you pointed out, sometimes we may say we are sorry just to get out of a situation, not really believing we are at fault. So, I guess, a good place to start is an acknowledgement and awareness of actually being wrong.

Leave a Reply

