Election Time – “Wamp, Wamp, Wamp!”

Do you remember what Charlie Brown’s parents sounded like?  It’s hard to spell, but my attempt is “Wamp Wamp, Wamp.”  No one could understand anything they said, except Charlie Brown of course.  That’s kind of the way I feel when I hear politicians speak.  Lots of sounds come out of their mouths–most of which is very hard to understand and much of which isn’t true.  If I sound cynical, I guess I am.  The simple fact of the matter is that I don’t really trust them.

There’s another side of this too.  I see and hear so much doom and gloom when it comes to our country.  The economy is bad. Morality is bad.  People are bad.  In general, all is bad and getting worse.  Yet, we still live in the greatest nation on earth.

In this election time, there is something that I want all of us to understand and remember.  God is still in control and ultimately, He will see to it that His people are taken care of.  That’s His promise and we ought to trust Him.  Politics has never, and will never be the answer to our needs, desires, and problems.  There has never been a time in our nation when “all” was well.  Check out the history and you’ll see that.  There have been great leaders and poor leaders.

Here’s the point:  When all around us things look like they are falling apart, Christians ought to be the most relaxed people on the planet.  We should be calm in our spirit that Jesus is still our Savior, the Holy Spirit still indwells us, and God is still on the throne.  Praise His Holy Name!!!!!

I read an email today that summed it up for me.  I don’t know the original author to give credit.  If you do, please tell me and I will credit them.  This is awesome!!

Top 10 Predictions No Matter Who Wins the Election

1.   The Bible will still have all the answers.
2.   Prayer will still work
3.   The Holy Spirit will still move.
4.   God will still inhabit the praises of His people.
5.   There will still be God-anointed preaching.
6.   There will still be singing of praise to God.
7.   God will still pour out blessings upon His people.
8.   There will still be room at the Cross.
9.   Jesus will still love you.
10. Jesus will still save the lost when they come to Him.

One response to “Election Time – “Wamp, Wamp, Wamp!”

  • cwinwc

    I’ll second your “wamp, wamp, wamp.” I’m ready for the election to be over. Especially since I took advantage of early voting last week.

Leave a Reply

