Operation Christmas Child

11-12-08-operation-christmas-child-with-noteLast night was our night as a church family to prepare shoe boxes for children all over the world to receive for Christmas.  It was an awesome experience.  Young and old gathered to wrap boxes, fill boxes, label them for shipment, and write notes to put in the boxes.  The picture you see here is the group that worked.  We will be placing one of these pictures in each box so that the children can see those who sent them their box.  We also put envelopes for them to write back if they chose.

If your church has not participated in this yet, you really ought to try it.  These kinds of events really bring out the good in our church.  There are no strings attached to these boxes.  We just pray that they bless the children who open them.  There will be hundreds of thousands of these distributed.  There’s no telling the good that will come from it.  Only God knows!  Just thought I’d share it.

5 responses to “Operation Christmas Child

  • Donna

    Sounds like a great time. I have donated the boxes but never prepared them…sounds like that would have been even more fun.

  • gregengland

    That is a great ministry … over the years I’ve seen the stage at Long Beach covered with those boxes.

  • Meowmix

    Great picture and great ministry. I’ve not heard of this. I may try and see if I can put a bug in somebody’s ear at Berclair.

  • Meowmix

    Keith, the last several times I’ve tried to e-mail you, the message has come back undeliverable. A friend and I are interested in how and where to find out more about this program. If you can direct me, please do.

  • Keith Davis

    Judy, Somehow, I’ve lost your email address. If you can email Greg or Cecil and get them to send me your address, that would be great. I tried to send you some information on Operation Christmas Child, but I got the mail kicked back to me.

    As far as this program is concerned, you can go to http://www.samaritanspurse.org to get all the information you need.

Leave a Reply

