Packed!!

11-18-08-brandon-packs-big-boyIt may be a little hard to see, but the picture has my son in the black uniform “packing” the kid about to shoot.  The kid shooting is about 6 feet 4 inches tall and Brandon is right at 6 feet tall.  It was a great moment.

I wish I could say we went on to win the game, but they beat us 65 to 61.  That’s not too bad for a 4A school playing a 6A.

Brandon scored 8 points.  Two of those buckets were threes.  He had one other three pointer rim out.

His coach was very positive about the whole outing for the team.  We weren’t really expecting to even hang with these guys, but by the end of the third period it was obvious that not only could we hang with them, we had a real chance of beating them.

This was Brandon’s first varsity basketball game.  He is a junior and the coach announced the starting team the day before the game.  Brandon was on that list.  He was so excited he called me on the way home to tell me.  We are very proud of him as a person.  Things like this are just icing on the cake.

5 responses to “Packed!!

  • cwinwc

    “Don’t bring that in my house young man!”
    Way to go Brandon.
    Great picture Dad. So happy for Brandon.

  • gregengland

    I look back on these moments in our lives and they are among the very best. Congrats to Brandon!

  • gregengland

    PS … I was a high school basketball official for 20 years, starting in north Alabama, finishing up as a varsity official in Florida. From my angle, I think Brandon fouled the guy. But I could be wrong! 🙂

  • Keith Davis

    I agree with you Greg. You should see the video. I thought the ref would surely call a foul, but he didn’t. They really did a good job at calling this game overall. Last year we played JV ball and you can really tell a difference this year in the quality of refs. However, this was our first game. We shall see.

  • Ellen Davis

    My son foul a guy? NO WAY! From my angle he’s just good. Takes after his mom. LOL

Leave a Reply

