Confirmation

There are many things in my life that are just the way I like them.  I love my family.  I have a wonderful wife who takes care of me and that’s not an easy thing to do.  I have four awesome children who continually bless me.  My church family is awesome!  We were talking Wednesday night about how our church family is such a gathering of different kinds of people, but the love that exists is incredible.  It doesn’t matter who you are, how much money you have, or what you’re wearing, you are accepted at Creekside.  We are not perfect, but we don’t claim to be.  We just claim to be loved by God and believe that Jesus is the way.

There are, however,  areas of my life that are really confusing right now.  These are areas that are uncertain.  There are things that I’d like to change, but really don’t know how.  In fact I’m clueless as to what I need to do.  I’m looking constantly for some kind of confirmation as to what I need to do or not do.

Have you ever been there?  Have you ever had a situation or event or series of events happen in your life that brought about confusion?  How do we find clarity in our circumstances?  Were do we find the answers?

Gideon looked for answers in the fleece.  David cried out through songs.  Job asked God questions–until God gave the answers.  Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego didn’t worry about the outcome–they just knew who they were and were not going to be shaken.

The nature of faith is “being sure of something hoped for and certain of things not seen.” Wow!  I know that the answer is in the heart of the Father.  Putting my trust in Him is what I need to do.  Confirmation will come.  I know that He is in charge.  I will trust God to show me the way.  I must give Him the opportunity to shine in my life.  That’s the answer, right!???

We live in turbulent times right now.  There’s uncertainty on the lips of nearly everyone I come in contact with.  The economy, marriages, morality, and the list could go on and on.  We must always remember that God is in control.

How do you seek God’s confirmation?  What do you do to prove to Him that you trust Him?

3 responses to “Confirmation

  • Donna

    I don’t worry. Even when I could and maybe should I just don’t. God has led me to things I could never have found on my own.

    And yet, I don’t know the answer to some things…I wish my church family was as resolved as yours…but I just keep doing the next right thing and pray that God will help me find where he wants me.

  • cwinwc

    Don’t know if I have the answer but I like what our worship guy said in a recent sermon –

    “Faith is when your feelings and demeanor matchup with your core beliefs.”

  • gregengland

    For me, I assume God’s confirmation rather than seek it. I think it was all firmed up in resurrection and the promise of second advent. Whenever I’ve sought some type of a more “concrete” confirmation from God, I’ve been left wondering . . .

    There are a lot of spiritual cliches out there but the bottom line is we are to live by faith in what God has done and what he has promised. Most of the biblical attempts to figure it out (the fleece, for example) are signs of a lack of faith more than a solid faith.

    Me? I just stumble along and keep a close eye on how Janice is doing. She really does live by faith.

Leave a Reply

