The Experiment

Sunday, January 4 begins the great experiment in my household. You’re asking, “What’s the great experiment?'” Let me explain.

God has blessed us with great kids. We don’t have any serious problems out of them. They are well mannered and, for the most part, they get along with others. But, they are teens and still struggle with lots of things. One of those things is a very natural thing with which to struggle as a young person–MATURITY.

Like every parent of teens, we sometimes struggle with the best ways to teach our children about maturity. Recently, a friend of mine told me a definition of maturity that brought a new perspective for me. He said that we begin to mature when we realize that we are not only responsible for ourselves, but we are responsible for the well-being of others. Mom used to say that there were some things I would not understand until I kids of my own. Maybe that was her way of expressing this definition of maturity. I’ve always thought that if I could get my kids to take care of others, (especially those of their own household) they would begin to mature.

So, beginning Sunday, our four children will be in charge of the household. They will clean all the clothes, take out the trash, wash the dishes, purchase groceries with their own money, and cook the food. They will be responsible for each other, any company who comes, and us.

The lesson we hope is learned here is responsibility. We want them to know what it’s like for us, as parents, to have to be concerned day by day for their well-being.

I will try and let you know from day to day how this is going. Please pray for us in this. I sure want this to go well. If it don’t, I might not get to eat supper or wear clean clothes. 🙂

6 responses to “The Experiment

  • mattdabbs

    In Ronald Heifetz’s book – Leadership Without Easy Answers he talks about how good leaders know how to put the people under their leadership in what he calls “productive tension.” That basically means a leader knows just how much he can stretch someone to accomplish a particular task without breaking them or getting them in over their head. If they are in over their head they will bail and the whole process will come to a screeching halt. So as their leader and parent it is important that you know them to be up to a task like and once you are sure of it don’t be afraid to try it out. That’s my 2 cents anyway.

  • That Girl

    Wow – I think that will be a trying time for all involved. It will probably be just as difficult for you and Ellen to give up some responsibilities as it will be for the kids to take on responsibilities!

    My brother had to wear pink baseball pants to one of his all star games when I took over the laundry… I’m just sayin’.

  • larry

    I think you are trying something that all parents should try. It is very difficult for kids getting out on their own with no clue about what it means to be responsible with their money and their time. I
    will pray for your family and the pray the kids get
    something most precious from this.

  • gregengland

    Hmmmm …

  • cwinwc

    This “Experiment” could be as Randy puts it, your “blog cash cow.” Looking forward to the updates and as Terri said, you might want to have a Plan B for food and clothes just in case.

  • Meowmix

    How interesting! At the end of this, it will probably be hard to tell who learned the most! 🙂 Good luck, and I will pray.

Leave a Reply

