Who Said It???

See if you agree with this statement.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me–watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

Do you know where that statement came from?  Click Here To Find Out

Were you surprised?

How in the world have we gotten to where we are in our religious world?  How can we take such profound simplicity and blow it with so much junk that it takes so-called, and/or self-proclaimed “scholars” to figure it out?  Why can’t we just get back to this simple message?  How can we get past ourselves enough to see clearly the way to go?

God help us!!

5 responses to “Who Said It???

  • gregengland

    I think we can lay this problem squarely in the lap of preachers.

  • Steve

    Preach it brother! Tell the Rev to take responsibility for his own preaching. Personally, I’ve never put burdens on my people . . . . is it cloudy outside??

    Peace.

  • Meowmix

    I remember that some religious person told my mom many, many years that if all we read from the Bible were the 4 gospels, it would be enough to go to heaven by. While my favorite books of the Bible tend to be in the “letters to Christians,” like Hebrews and Phillipians, that statement the man made to my mom has stuck with me. The longer I live, the more it comes back to me, and I know that, while there are wonderful reasons God gave us the rest of the Word, the simplicity of the gospel is found in those 4 books.

  • Donna

    I was not surprised…but I am surprised at how hard it is to learn to live in that freedom.

    Habits are a chain that binds….

Leave a Reply

