Idol Sadness

I think that most of us who watch American Idol knew that it was just a matter of time before Scott would be voted off the show.  Well, tonight was the night.  It’s the first time I’ve ever cried at someone being voted off.

It’s not so much that I thought that he was the best singer.  It’s more his story that affected my emotions.  Here’s a guy that had ample reason to not even attempt anything like American Idol.  Having a handicap like he did certainly limited him in some areas, but not in his voice and piano playing.  he stated that he wanted to help people to know that no matter your inabilities don’t allow them to hold you back.  He then proceeded to show America his talent.

It is a lesson to all of us.  If you have a dream–dream it all the way because some dreams can and do come true.  What are you dreaming tonight?  I hope and pray that you will allow this man’s inspiration take you forward.

One response to “Idol Sadness

  • Greg England

    I really like Scott for all the same reasons, but I was neither surprised nor saddened to see him go. I was hoping it would be either Lil or Anoop … but I think Scott was, in Simon’s words to another contestant, “in a competition he could not win.” But Scott’s journey has been an encouragement to us all.

Leave a Reply

