A “Word From The Lord”

I hear quite often people say, “I heard a word from the Lord.”  I’ve often wondered what they meant by that.  Was it verbal, a prompting, a nudging?  Was it something they read or saw on TV?  Could it have been on a billboard?  Could it have been a little bit of “all of the above?”  I wonder.  Could some people be “faking” these words from the Lord?  Does God respect others when He allows it to happen to some and not to others?

It’s all very disconcerting for me.  I don’t know if my background won’t allow it or if my lack of experience with it just won’t allow me to believe it.  I do believe that God spoke verbally to people throughout scripture and history.  There’s just way too much evidence in some lives to prove that.  I also don’t believe that God’s Spirit died after the apostles did.  I believe that God has every right to be just as powerful and working today as He did long ago.

All that being said, I want to ask you.  Have you ever heard a “word from the Lord?”  If so, how so?  If not, why not?  I’ll have more to add to this later.

A SIDE NOTE:  Thanks Judy for nudging me back into this blogging thing again.  I appreciate your heart.  Can I get an amen from the blog family?

4 responses to “A “Word From The Lord”

  • Dee Andrews

    I’ll say Amen, Keith. Keep blogging. Don’t give up. I deeply believe this is a treasure we leave for our children & grandchildren. Hope so, anyway! Plus . . . what a lovely, wonderful blog family we have!

    It’s been a while . . .

    Dee

  • Greg England

    Hey, we would have nudged you, but we thought you were only blogging once every six to eight weeks!! 🙂

    I have heard a word from God in the sense of an overwhelming need to do or say something. When I’ve been responsive to that nudge, it’s always been something that was more divine than human. And when I’ve ignored it, I’ve always regretted it.

  • Meowmix

    My nudges would be like the ones Greg describes. (Like waking up thinking about somebody, praying for them, and then getting in touch! 🙂 ) God’s power is not limited. Whatever He chooses to do, He can and will do.

    Glad to see this blog.

Leave a Reply

