A Word From the Lord Part 2

It might help to give everyone an update on just where I am right now.  At least as much as I know about where I am.  It’s funny how little I know about that subject at this moment in time.

A quick (and I mean really quick) history of the last 9 or so weeks.  Most of you who know  me at all know that I’m, at the moment, not employed with a church.  It’s the first time since about 1984 in which that has been the case.  That in itself is a long story that I chose not to put in writing.  I choose that because so much of it can be misunderstood.  I’m still not sure I understand all of it myself.  I will say this that I’ve come to grips with the fact that some things are just totally out of our control.  It really doesn’t matter what “side” you find yourself in church struggles, many times we just can’t control things.  I do know this–God can take things that are even out of His will and make something beautiful out of it.  If I didn’t believe that, I guess I would be crazy right now.

Anyway, since leaving the paid staff position at a church, I have had to think about where I stand in this world.  I kind of always thought I’d be a part of a church in a “ministry  position” and that still may be in my future.  I don’t think that God has worked on me and my family through all of this to leave us and let us fend for ourselves.  I feel that I’m being shaped for something else in the ministry world.  I don’t have a clue as to what that looks like, but I feel it strongly.

For the time being, I’m working at Gold’s Gym in Florence.  People say, “How’d you end up there?”  I usually say, “I saw a sign.”  That is literally true.  I was driving down Cox Creek Parkway and there it was in big letters, “NOW HIRING IN SALES.”  Couldn’t resist that one. LOL.  For the past 8 weeks or so, I’ve been doing that work to help pay the bills.  It’s not as much money as I would like, but in this economy, I’m just proud to be working.  I have, by God’s graces, been very successful so far.  The general manager introduced me to a new salesman last week as, “the best salesperson Gold’s has ever had.”  That was nice to hear.  I don’t say that here to toot my own horn, but to say that God is still blessing us.  To Him be the glory.

As I said earlier, I’m still trying to find my way through this time.  Each week brings on new challenges, successes, and struggles.  I’ve done so much “ministry” since being there.  It’s almost like God has opened a door to help me learn some things about our community from a new perspective.  I will say this that we, as preachers, are really sheltered from the “real world” much more than I had already thought.

While seeking what it is He is trying to “say” to me, I experienced something that was really strange to me.  I don’t know why this would be strange to me except for the things I’ve been taught about this kind of thing.  It was a “word from the Lord.”  Now, let me say quickly, I wasn’t looking for this kind of thing and it was totally a shock to me.  It wasn’t some blast from the sky or loud verbal thing, but it was definitely clear and understandable.  The words I heard in a soft verbal tone were, “Bring Them Together.”

Here’s even more of the story.  God sent a confirmation to me about this through an individual who knew absolutely nothing about those words.  The words came to me on a Friday, I believe, and at that time, only my wife knew that I’d heard this.  My friend came to me after our Tuesday night Bible study and said, “I don’t know why I’m supposed to tell you this, but I need to tell you something.”  I asked, “What is it?”  He said, “I believe that you have been brought to this time in your life to bring unity to the Christians in the Shoals area.”

The next morning in Bible study with a couple of friends, we continued our study of  Ephesians.  Here is the verse that I centered my thoughts on the night before (after hearing the words of my friend Kevin), (Ephesians 3:6 NCV)  “This is that secret: that through the Good News those who are not Jews will share with the Jews in God’s blessing. They belong to the same body, and they share together in the promise that God made in Christ Jesus.” That whole book mentions the “mystery” of Jesus bringing together Jew and Gentile through the good news.

I don’t know about you, but all of this brings about so much emotion.  I asked my friend Joe, “What do I do with all of this?”  His advise (which I’ve taken) is to just wait and see.  His words were, “We’re so task oriented that we think that we are supposed to hurry and ‘do’ something.  Why don’t you wait on God?”

That’s where I am.  I don’t expect that God has made me to simply sell gym memberships, even though I’m ok with that if that is the case.  I just pray that there’s something more than that.

I ask you to pray about this and also to give me what’s on your heart about it.  I’m OK with your discomfort about it.  God knows that I really don’t know what to do with it myself.  I just wait.

9 responses to “A Word From the Lord Part 2

  • Greg England

    Whoa! I was brought up to believe the whole point of Ephesians was to condemn instrumental music in worship! (5:19) Did I miss something … is there more to the letter than this?

    Seriously … I don’t try to judge another person’s spiritual experiences so long as they are harmonious with the Word of God. That you would hear that voice is not a surprise to me, nor am I uncomfortable with it (not that it would matter if I were). I’ve “heard” God’s voice a time or two in my life and I, too, found that being still before God was a lot better than doing something.

    I have no doubt that God would use you to bring unity among believers in that area. And I don’t think it will surprise you to learn just how diverse His kingdom really is!!!

    Thanks for sharing this journey with us. I look forward to hearing more about the confirmation of God’s word to you.

    Love you, brother … and your sweet family. You are all very special to me and my family.

  • cwinwc

    Let His voice shout among us brother, including inside our heads! I knew God would take care of you and is directing you towards something that none of us can forsee. My own story about where I’m at doesn’t even come close to making sense unless you put God into the equation.

    I do not doubt that God is using and, or preparing you for a mighty purpose of which the one you mentioned would qualify. You are in our hearts, minds, and prayers. The invitation at our home still stands as well.

  • Meowmix

    Waiting……….and praying………..with you.

  • Donna

    Waiting is the hardest part…but from experience, do it. I am one of the “fools that rush in”. If I hear something I think I should DO SOMETHING! And I am sure you will, but be wise enough to led God lead you into it. He obviously has a plan if he is sending you this message.

    Keep us posted.

  • Sonny Owens

    Bring who together? Your family? God’s Family? Creekside Family? New Church Family? I read what your friend said he was to tell you but who should you bring together? Not meaning to argue but seriously who should you bring together? Anxiously waiting on part 3

  • Keith Davis

    Greg, I too am finding that the word of God is much bigger than I ever thought. Thanks for helping me know how narrow minded I’ve been.

    Cecil thanks for reminding me that, with God, the things that don’t seem to make sense can be clear because we trust Him.

    Judy, Thanks for your prayers and your huge heart.

    Donna, Thanks for trusting in my word about this message.

    Sonny, Thanks for reminding me that I have to wait. Part 3 is coming, but that will have to be in God’s time. Who knows which of your questions God will answer. It may be all of them.

    To all of you, thanks for your responses to this really strange email.

    (Psalms 130:5 NCV) “I wait for the LORD to help me, and I trust his word.”

  • Sonny Owens

    God’s timing (sometimes) is a hard wait but don’t you love it? Yes, I can see all of them but of course it is not my word to hear so I (like you) will anxiously wait. Glad things are going well with the job. I told you I would call you but from a fat preacher to a now almost skinny preacher “don’t hold your breath” waiting on my call. I am really struggling with my appreciate (for food).

  • Steve

    Hey bro, glad to get caught up with you and what’s happening. I am so glad that things are working out for you and that God is continuing to use your life to build up and encourage others. You are a special bro.
    Peace.

  • On the Brink of Something « Keith Davis’ Blog

    […] months ago I received a word from God. It’s the only time in my life that I felt God actually say something to me. I’m sure […]

Leave a Reply

