Stepping Out on Faith

Abraham left his country and was willing to give the ultimate sacrifice–his own son. Moses raised his staff and watched the Red Sea open and the people of God went through on dry ground. Israel marched around the city of Jericho for seven days, shouted and watched the walls fall because of their faith in God. Gideon’s army was reduced to a small band of men, but they defeated thousands with trumpets, and lights.

The remembrances of God’s faithfulness could go on and on. He is faithful! Those are some of the most important words in scripture. I have been reminded again this weekend of God’s words to me. Here’s my testimony.

As you who read my blog know, I’ve been praying (along with many of you) about the word from God I received weeks ago. I’ve been seeking confirmation and looking for more clarity about what it is that God wants. I’m still wondering, “Bring who or what together?” Just exactly what am I doing selling gym memberships? Why can’t I get back to what it is that God has called me to?  I’ve had so many reminders this weekend that God is not only listening, but is at work putting something together.

I told you about Sunday night, a week ago, about Refuel and the incredible feeling it was to be back speaking to groups about Jesus.  It was one more confirmation that I need to still be speaking for God somewhere or somehow.  This turn around in my spirit continued starting on Friday.

I was walking to the car Friday morning after having forgotten my glasses at home. I can’t see anything up close without them.  I was grumbling under my breath about having to be where I was. I was feeling down about everything from the weather (which as been terrible lately in our town) to the job I am doing.

On the way to the car and in the midst of all of this grumbling, I said something to the effect of, “Well, God, I guess you are just not going to do anything about my situation are you?”

I got in my car, started the engine, and there was a couple of seconds of silence on the radio, and then the song by Casting Crowns, “Voice of Truth” began. I know it lengthens this blog, but I have to put the lyrics to that song here to help this story make sense. Here they are:

Oh,what I would do to have the kind of faith it
Takes to climb out of this boat I’m in onto the crashing waves.
To step out of my comfort zone into the realm of the unknown where
Jesus is, and he’s holding out his hand.

But the waves are calling out my name and they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me time and time again
“Boy, you’ll never win, you’ll never win.”

But the Voice of truth tells me a different story, the Voice of truth says “do not be afraid!”
and the Voice of truth says “this is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth

Oh, what I would do  to have the kind of strength it
Takes to stand before a giant with just a sling and a stone
Surrounded by the sound of a thousand warriors shaking in their armor
Wishing they’d have had the strength to stand.

But the giant’s calling out my name and he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me time and time again
“Boy you’ll never win, you’ll never win.”

Repeat Chorus

But the stone was just the right size to put the giant on the ground
and the waves they don’t seem so high from on top of them looking down

I will soar with the wings of eagles when I stop and listen to the sound of
Jesus singing over me.

Repeat Chorus

Needless to say, I wept all the way home to get my glasses.  I could not contain it.  God, through the gift of music, spoke to me again.  He was saying, “Stop doubting me.”  “Trust my care.”  “I am working on you and you need to just listen to me.”  “Trust-Trust-Trust.”  I shared the story with Ellen and she too could not contain it.  Tears flowed and questions came.  What do we do with this?

The story continues.  Sunday morning, we had a guest speaker.  He is Alex Gear, a native Scot who was traveling through speaking to churches who have supported him through the years in Scotland.  He is a wonderful man of God.  Now I used to think if the preacher was talking to me, it had to be just “happenstance” or just “luck.”  Not any more.  Alex talked about faith and specifically how God is faithful.  One of his points was that God is faithful even when we are not.

After the sermon, I had to get up and tell my testimony.  I felt the power of the Holy Spirit guiding my words.  The church was so encouraged–so much so that another brother stood up and confirmed my words.  During the class time afterward, Alex shared that he changed what he was going to talk about that day only five minutes before he got up to speak.  WOW!!  I wonder how that happened.  I think I know.

The next time you begin to doubt that God is listening–that’s when you need to listen even more.  Even through your doubt, He speaks.  I do believe!!

Please pray that as I go through this week God will continue to help me decide what it is I need to do.  I don’t want to say in this blog, but I think I know my first step of faith in this chapter of my life.  Please pray that it’s the right thing or that God will defeat my thoughts in a hurry.

I cannot wait to see what God’s going to do tomorrow.  It’s no longer “if” he is going to do, but “what” and “when.”

6 responses to “Stepping Out on Faith

  • Meowmix

    Your story gives me goosebumps. Praying………

  • Brenda Clanton

    Thank you for such a great testimony. Wow! God is going
    to use not only you, but your whole family . All of you have
    great hearts for the Lord and are such encouragement to
    me.

  • cwncw

    Seems like I remember God laying a last minute message on someone I know that spoke to me. You are in my prayers Bro.

  • Donna

    Wow….can’t wait to hear what happens next.

  • Janice Garrison

    What a powerful testimony!

    My friend Judy Poyner directed me to your blog and I’m thankful she did. You and your family will be in my prayers.

    I want to share an article that our preacher, Russell Hill put in our church bulletin. I was especially touched by it because I have been feeling a bit “out of sorts”. I apologize in advance for taking up so much space on your blog.
    I have often wondered what happened to them? Where did they go? A great army standing in a valley and then … It doesn’t say. I don’t think he was just seeing things. I don’t think it was a vision. I believe that in
    Ezekiel 37, Ezekiel really did stand in a valley and see a bunch of dry bones turn into an army of living people. What happened to them, who knows, but that is not really the point. The point is, God was declaring that He gives life to the lifeless and hope to the hopeless! Those old dry bones without any hope are no challenge for Him to resurrect. That is good news! Why, you ask?

    I don’t know about you, but from time to time I feel like a pile of old dried up bones without much hope. I am not talking about the physical aches and pains but the spiritual ones. The feeling that I am down at the bottom of a deep valley longing to be up on the mountaintop. The feeling that God is a million miles away and I’ll never find Him. The spiritual emptiness that makes going to church a chore, causes prayer to be next to impossible and allows guilt to creep in and convince you God has given up on you. Do you know what causes those “dry bone” feelings? Taking our eyes off of Christ. Think back in your life, has there ever been a time you felt like dry bones when you had your eyes focused on Christ? I guarantee the answer is no! The reason for that is found in Ezekiel 37. God asked, “Son of man, can these bones become living people again?”

    Ezekiel replies, “O Sovereign Lord, you alone know the answer to that.” God answers YES with more than just words! In fact, in Christ, no matter how many promises God has made they are always YES! God is the reviver, the refresher, and the renewer. God is the one that goes down into our deepest valleys and breathes life into us. God has not and will not ever leave us or forsake us.

  • On the Brink of Something « Keith Davis’ Blog

    […] few weeks later I received another word from God. As plain as I’m writing this I believe that God asked me to take a leap of faith and quit my […]

Leave a Reply

