God Will Sustain Us!!

Do we really believe that God will sustain us? Is our total trust in Him? I really wonder where my heart is sometimes.

I hear statements like, “I know we are to have faith, but it’s so hard!” Or, “It was different in Noah’s day for him to have faith because God told him what to do.” I’ve even heard people say, “If I could have lived in Jesus’ time, I would have believed.” Really now, would you have?

We want to think that we would have believed, but I can prove to you that it’s just possible to see all those things and still not believe.  (Matthew 28:16-17 NIV)  “Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted.” What???  “Some doubted???”  What were they thinking?  How many resurrections had they seen?  Just how many times did this ascension thing happen in Jerusalem?  What would it take to erase their doubt?

I believe trhat it is only by the power of God that we are all sustained!  Every breath we take, every move we make, God is directing you!  (Proverbs 20:24 NLT)  “How can we understand the road we travel? It is the LORD who directs our steps.” We can’t step one foot on the floor out of bed, but that the Lord is directing those steps.  Since that is the case, why don’t we live in such a way that we magnify Him?  Why don’t we just step and expect Him to make the path?  I challenge all of us to hear the word from God and watch the path He makes for our lives.

I read the following prayer from an article on fasting by Steven Lemmons.  It is very powerful and one that I need in my life!!  Listen with your heart.

“Oh, that you would burst from the heavens and come down! How the mountains would quake in your presence! As fire causes wood to burn and water to boil, your coming would make the nations tremble. Then your enemies would learn the reason for your fame! When you came down long ago, you did awesome things beyond our highest expectations. And oh, how the mountains quaked! For since the world began, no ear has heard, and no eye has seen a God like you, who works for those who wait for him! You welcome those who cheerfully do good, who follow godly ways.”

“But we are not godly. We are constant sinners, so your anger is heavy on us. How can people like us be saved? We are all infected and impure with sin. When we proudly display our righteous deeds, we find they are but filthy rags. Like autumn leaves, we wither and fall. And our sins, like the wind, sweep us away. Yet no one calls on your name or pleads with you for mercy. Therefore, you have turned away from us and turned us over to our sins.”

“And yet, LORD, you are our Father. We are the clay, and you are the potter. We are all formed by your hand. Oh, don’t be so angry with us, LORD. Please don’t remember our sins forever. Look at us, we pray, and see that we are all your people.”

8 responses to “God Will Sustain Us!!

  • Meowmix

    I’ve often thought about living in Noah’s day and whether or not I would have followed him into the ark. Chances are I would have been like all the rest. After all, it had never rained. What was this old geezer doing? Why doesn’t his family have him committed. And, anyway, what’s a boat? It’s easier to think I would have believed in Jesus after seeing all that He did. But some of the eyewitnesses had trouble with it, as you say. We ARE all broken, and “we are not godly.” So thankful He loves me, anyway.

    One of my favorite verses in the Psalms is 3:5, I believe it is. “I lie down and sleep. I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.”

  • gregengland

    Just suppose for a moment that Jesus did show up and demonstrate his holiness to all the nations. Then what? If he stayed, that would be one thing. But after getting the attention of every person alive, what would happen? The television preachers would start explaining it … the various churches would all go back to fighting each other … and in no time at all, we’d be right back where we are today! Very much like the politicians did shortly after 9/11. For a few brief days we were united as a nation. And then . . .

    As for that prayer, I had trouble with it because I don’t focus on God’s anger. Nor do I pray, “please don’t remember our sins forever,” because He’s already promised to remember them NO MORE. It’s passionate. But it’s not a prayer that I would pray. That prayer states that God has turned away from us when, in fact, he’s done just the opposite in Christ.

    Sorry to rain on your blog, but it just didn’t resonate with my heart.

  • Connie

    Perhaps because we are all at different places in our journey, we will see this differently. My faith is stronger now than it was 20 years ago because God has sustained me through some things I never thought I could endure. I’ve prayed some fervent prayers that didn’t get the answers I wanted, but one thing I’ve found is that God is always present. And that’s enough.

    Like Greg, I don’t focus on God’s anger or feel the need to ask Him to remember my sins no more. Jesus Christ has taken away the need for me to do that.

    I also don’t set up expectations that God must meet to show He’s sustaining me. I just try to do the thing that is before me that I know is the right thing to do and then trust Him to open up the next right thing. Just simple things like trying to do a good job at work, showing kindness to my clients and coworkers, performing the sometimes mundane tasks at home with a good attitude, remaining grateful for the blessings that are present in every moment, etc. Nothing dramatic or showy (and certainly none of it done to perfection), just simple things.

    You asked why we don’t live in such a way that we magnify Him? I realize this was a rhetorical question, but my answer to you would be that we are. Maybe you don’t see it, but God does.

  • Keith Davis

    The prayer reminds me of some of the things the Psalmists would say. Many times they cried out about God’s anger like the prayer above, yet they always returned to the promise that God would save-like the prayer above. I certainly don’t like to focus on God being angry, but the truth is, sometimes He is. I guess it’s really hard to express where I am right now. Some of you are confused I guess as to what I’m trying to say. O well, I can’t always communicate as well I thought.

    As far as the setting up expectations, God said Himself for us to set up expectations of Him. Concerning giving, He says, (Malachi 3:10 NCV) “Bring to the storehouse a full tenth of what you earn so there will be food in my house. TEST ME IN THIS,” says the LORD All-Powerful. “I will open the windows of heaven for you and pour out all the blessings you need.”

    Just for the record, Here’s one example of a prayer that sees God angry and merciful all at the same time. Many times the Psalms have no problem crying out for God to save, knowing all the while that He does or has already.

    “LORD, don’t correct me when you are angry; don’t punish me when you are very angry. LORD, have mercy on me because I am weak. Heal me, LORD, because my bones ache. I am very upset. LORD, how long will it be? LORD, return and save me; save me because of your kindness. Dead people don’t remember you; those in the grave don’t praise you. I am tired of crying to you. Every night my bed is wet with tears; my bed is soaked from my crying. My eyes are weak from so much crying; they are weak from crying about my enemies. Get away from me, all you who do evil, because the LORD has heard my crying. The LORD has heard my cry for help; the LORD will answer my prayer. All my enemies will be ashamed and troubled. They will turn and suddenly leave in shame.”

  • Brenda Clanton

    I understand where you are coming from. I believe the Lord wants us to cry out to him. I also believe Satan is very powerful and don’t want us to cry out to God. He wants us to give up. Thank you for not giving up! God is going to do great things through you as he already has.

  • Connie

    “Bring to the storehouse a full tenth of what you earn so there will be food in my house. TEST ME IN THIS,” says the LORD All-Powerful. “I will open the windows of heaven for you and pour out all the blessings you need.”

    Yes, we are asked to live generously and we are assured that God will bless us generously. On that we can agree. I have definitely found this to be true in my own life. What concerns me is setting up specific things God must do to prove Himself. This verse does not advocate that. We cannot make demands that God must meet – even Jesus didn’t do that. “Thy will be done” is always the last word of a faithful servant.

  • Connie

    Keith, To be clear, I do not doubt your sincerity. I simply believe your thinking is faulty.

    Also, it has occurred to me that I do not know the details of your life, so perhaps it has been inappropriate for me to comment. From what you’ve said on this blog, it sounds like you’ve simply quit your job without a plan to support your wife and family. But, that may not be the case at all. Your wife may have a salary that can pay the bills or you may have other means of support which you haven’t mentioned, or you may have another business venture you’re looking at. Whatever the case, I honestly wish you and your family all the best.

  • kdavis777

    No Connie, I have nothing to go to. Ellen’s money will not pay the bills. I don’t have any idea what’s going to happen. I just know God told me to move and I am. It’s up to God to make the path.

    So far, when i have needed God has supplied.

Leave a Reply

