Celebration Was Wonderful

It’s been quite while since I have driven a group of teens anywhere. Dan, our youth minister, asked if I would, so I did. some things you just don’t forget how to do. Some of you may ask, “What’s there to knowing what to do when driving a van loaded with teens?” I’m glad you ask.

First, you have to allow the kids some time to get to know your driving style. Mine is rather erratic to say the least, so it didn’t take long for that.

Second, there is the whole “getting to know you phase.” This is the first trip we’ve taken with the teens at Macedonia. Some of them know a little about me, but not enough to be comfortable. It was really quiet on that van for a while. The trip back was much more relational.

Third, the kids had to put up with my very dry sense of humor. They didn’t seem to mind that too bad. I even got a chuckle or two out of them.

eleven in the skyFourth, it is important to recognize teachable moments. On this trip we went through some beautiful country in Tennessee. The fall colors and the sunset were amazing. Lots to talk about there. On the way back we even saw a number in the sky, posted here. We are still trying to figure out the significance of this writing in the sky. I’m still open for suggestions.

Anyway, we really had a wonderful time in Kentucky. The worship was really awesome!! Chris Lindsey from Watershed led the worship along with the praise team from Crosspoint Church in Florence. Randy Harris knocked it out of the park. We also heard Jason Ashlock from the Manhattan Church.

Still my favorite part of the whole event was the praise and worship. To see over 1000 teens and adults gathered in a room that seated 1000 dancing, raising their hands, clapping, shouting, sitting still, praying, laughing, and just having a great time in worship is something that can’t help but fire me up!!

Children were sponsored through Compassion International, toiletries were collected to give to shelters for abused women, and money was taken up to support the Murray State University Christian Student Center. That is a lot of help from a few groups of teens.

I was just honored to get to be there.

3 responses to “Celebration Was Wonderful

  • gregengland

    You brought back some good memories from my days as a youth minister. Only back then, there was nothing like Celebration! But we did the best we could with what we were allowed to do.

  • Meowmix

    I’m glad you had a good trip and an uplifting worship experience. Remind me to tell you sometime about the canoe trip on the Buffalo River with a bunch of teens! 🙂

    “Jason Ashlock” sounds familiar. If he’s the person I knew briefly and I don’t have the names mixed up, I know him to be superb.

    I see a cross in the sky picture……………

  • Keith Davis

    he probably is the guy you know Judy. He worked with the church in Memphis for some time. He is originally from Arkansas I think.

Leave a Reply

