A New Year–Time For Perspective!

The clock has turned again and a new year has begun. In the scheme of things, it’s just another day, but there’s something about ushering in a new year that brings a fresh perspective to our lives. It is a time of looking forward while also reflecting on the past.

In some respects 2009 has been a very difficult year for us, but in most respects it has been a good year. We have a new grandson now and a new son-in-law who loves and cares for our daughter and son. We are healthy to the best off our knowledge. We have become a part of a great church family in the Macedonia church. We have been surrounded by friends and family who have loved us in spite of our flaws while at the same time taking care of us–quite literally.

As I look forward to the coming year, I have a few hopes and dreams for my life. I hope to be more involved in the ministry again. I know that some say and it is true in one sense, “we are all in the ministry,” but I feel the calling on my life again and that is a good feeling. I hope to be a better husband than I’ve been this year. I want to be the kind of father my children need. I want to get myself in better shape again. This time last year, I weighed about 30 pounds less than I do now. I allowed the stress of life to dominate my mind and just let myself go. That needs to change.

I hope that 2010 can bring new life to my spiritual life. I really need to get back into the word of God more deeply. I want to begin teaching and preaching more and more again. I want to seek God more deeply than ever in my life.

The difficulties of this past year have helped me see some things anew. 1. I think I am a more humble person. That sounds almost cocky to say, but I really think God has been trying to teach me to get rid of my pride. 2. I think I’m more bold in my beliefs. Having been put in the position I’m in has helped me see what really matters. 3. I have a new respect for people in the “secular” work place. I’ve had to gain that perspective because I’ve been there again. It had been so long that I had grown impatient with people and their “excuses” of being tired on Wednesday nights or saying that it’s difficult to work on certain aspects of their lives due to the stress of work. That is a real struggle for some. 4. I will never take for granted spending time with my family again if I get that opportunity.

I wish all of you a very blessed new year! I pray God’s blessings and favor fall upon you all.

3 responses to “A New Year–Time For Perspective!

  • jel

    hope u and your family have a blessed new year!

  • Greg England

    After 30 years in paid ministry and now going on my third year of full time “secular” work, I have a far better appreciation of just how stressful our lives can be and now completely understand why so many people just don’t have the energy or even the desire to support all the “church stuff” I thought would make them better people. Every preacher should have to work a few years in the real world before accepting a pulpit position … he would be a far more compassionate and empathetic minister.

  • cwncw

    Good perspectives from you and Greg. I hope 2010 blesses you in many ways brother.

Leave a Reply

