God’s Grace All Sufficient

Hebrews is written to a discouraged people. They were people who were trying to go back and do things in ways they were comfortable. They needed only to trust that what they believed about Jesus was true and all they needed ultimately was Jesus.

A friend of mine sent me an article the other day that had as it’s text Hebrews 13:9. Here is the immediate context of that verse. Watch what God is up to in these verses.

(Hebrews 13:1-9 NCV) “Keep on loving each other as brothers and sisters. {2} Remember to welcome strangers, because some who have done this have welcomed angels without knowing it. {3} Remember those who are in prison as if you were in prison with them. Remember those who are suffering as if you were suffering with them. {4} Marriage should be honored by everyone, and husband and wife should keep their marriage pure. God will judge as guilty those who take part in sexual sins. {5} Keep your lives free from the love of money, and be satisfied with what you have. God has said, “I will never leave you; I will never forget you.” {6} So we can be sure when we say, “I will not be afraid, because the Lord is my helper. People can’t do anything to me.” {7} Remember your leaders who taught God’s message to you. Remember how they lived and died, and copy their faith. {8} Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever. {9} Do not let all kinds of strange teachings lead you into the wrong way. Your hearts should be strengthened by God’s grace, not by obeying rules about foods, which do not help those who obey them.”

It is a section of scripture that is a real comfort to me today.  Just what is going to happen tome financially I do not know, but I know that God knows and that He has promised to take care of me.  I see several things in this word from God.

1.  Focus on what matters: “Keep on loving each other as brothers and sisters.”  My family means more than the rules, “which do not help those who obey them.”  When he tell us to not let “all kinds of strange teachings lead you into the wrong way…,” he refers to strange teachings about Jesus, which they had to deal with a great deal.  His point:  Jesus is the same always.

2. I don’t need to love money so much: “Keep your lives free from the love of money, and be satisfied with what you have.”  Contentment is a great thing!!  I just wish I could provide only the things I need.  I’m going to try and allow God to take care of those needs.

3. Empathize with the hurting: “Remember those who are suffering as if you were suffering with them.”  That is telling me that I need to be thinking about those who are hurting.  Sometimes I can’t get my mind off of my own “sufferings” enough to even think about others, let alone feel what they feel.

4. God’s grace is sufficient: “Your hearts should be strengthened by God’s grace.”  The word for “strengthened” in the original here means “stability.”  It is trying to teach me that I am to remain stable only in the Lord’s grace.  He is really all that we need.  Knowing that Jesus died for me and I’m going to be with Him should be all that I need.  I can’t wait till I get to see Him and His loving face!!!!!!

5. Remember: In this passage the author uses the word “remember” five times.  He also says that He will never leave us nor forsake us.  We must remember all the things He’s done for us and he will never forget us.

This passage blessed me today and I just wanted to share it with you.

2 responses to “God’s Grace All Sufficient

Leave a Reply

