God’s Grace All Sufficient PART 2

Today, as I get to do each Wednesday, I sat down with two of my brothers, Jeremy and Steve, to study God’s word and meditate on its truths. We are studying Ephesians. I just wanted to share another thought or two about grace since that is such the focus of Paul’s writings.

(Ephesians 3:18-19 NCV)  “And I pray that you and all God’s holy people will have the power to understand the greatness of Christ’s love–how wide and how long and how high and how deep that love is. {19} Christ’s love is greater than anyone can ever know, but I pray that you will be able to know that love. Then you can be filled with the fullness of God.”

God’s grace came through the love that Christ gave to the whole world.  Paul calls it a mystery revealed in the book of Ephesians.  He says that it’s greater than we can know, but he also prayers that we will be able to know it.  Only then can we be filled with the “fullness of God.”

No matter what I’m going through, I am saved.  No matter how great my sin, I am forgiven.  No matter how bad the discouragement, I can have genuine joy.  No that’s a blessing to give the world.

(Ephesians 3:10 NCV)  “His purpose was that through the church all the rulers and powers in the heavenly world will now know God’s wisdom, which has so many forms.” After knowing about His love and grace for us, our purpose is to make known to the heavenly realm the various ways of God’s wisdom.  We were asked in the study guide we are using , “Is the church doing a good job of showing God’s wisdom?”

I think that one way we can show that kind of wisdom to the heavenly realm is by doing that which God has given us to do here.  For example, Jesus told us to “love our neighbor as ourselves.”  We must be showing this to the world to confound the heavenly and earthly realms.  Anytime we live out loud the word of God, we are confounding those around us both in the earthly and heavenly realms.

What are some other ways we can show the wisdom of God in our world and in the heavenly world?

2 responses to “God’s Grace All Sufficient PART 2

  • Meowmix

    I recently came across the following attributes of Godly wisdom.

    James 3:17 – “But the wisdom that comes from above is first of all pure, then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere.”

    I had often questioned exactly wat wisdom, and certainly Godly wisdom, really was. I saw this passage as a description of sorts. Living a life of purity and peace with those around us (and within outselves, with Christ), being considerate of others, submissive to both God and man’s laws, doing good, extending mercy and not being judgmental, cutting each other slack, being fair and genuine. Putting these things to work in our lives for the good of those around us, I think, would be showing God’s wisdom to this world.

  • cwinwc

    How about showing love to those who are loveless – homeless folks for instance. This is tough one for me but I did buy a guy a whopper meal the other day so God is working on my heart.

Leave a Reply

