Getting Caught In God’s Story–“HIStory”

In a recent sermon series our minister, brother Mark Maybrey, made a statement. I don’t remember the exact quote, but it was something like, “Get caught up in God’s story–HIStory, instead of trying to ask God to fit our version of the story.”  His point was that we tend to expect God to bless the plans that we’ve made rather than trying to seek where God is working and get involved in His work.

Today, I read my friend Ron Ethridge’s blog which talks about whining Christians in this present age.  In making his point he says, “How we act in adversity and in disappointing times reveals… exposes… and proves our faith.”  How true that is!!

Here is a connection I made in my mind in thinking about these two brothers and their wisdom.   I even commented on Ron’s blog to this effect.  It could be that God is preparing our hearts in these hard times to reach out to the world. I wonder too if God is not allowing my family to struggle in order to get us ready to help others who will struggle soon.

It is a tough world right now, that’s not even debatable.  The real question for us as God’s children is, How are we going to respond to the call of God to reach out to those who are hurting?  I realize that our definition of “hurting” in America compared with the rest of the world might be skewed by our prosperity, but hurting is hurting and people in our country are hurting.

Here’s the deal.  People all around us are trying to find their way.  I am trying again to find my way back into the kind of ministry God wants for me.  I have no clue what that is going to look like, but I’m just glad to be back in the frame of mind to want it again.  I am looking for places where God is working and trying to get involved there.  If that is a church, fine.  If that is bi-vocational, fine.  Even in the hard times we are going through, if that is where He wants me, I guess that will have to be fine too!  The point here is focusing on what God wants for me and my family.  That is a daily process.

Let us all do one thing that brother Ron asked of us in his blog.  Let’s stop whining and start trying to spread Jesus to the world.  God knows our story better than we know it ourselves.  Let’s trust Him to take us through.  It’s time for all of us to begin living what we’ve been telling the world and that is:  God is still in control!  Trust it!  Relax!

(Proverbs 3:5 NCV)  “Trust the LORD with all your heart, and don’t depend on your own understanding.”

2 responses to “Getting Caught In God’s Story–“HIStory”

  • Meowmix

    I think there’s a fine line between the two thoughts. Probably a great many of us ask God to bless the plans/actions we’ve already made and initiated. It’s a little murky there, for me, trying to figure out where one begins and the other ends.

  • cwinwc

    Good thoughts Bro. You guys are in my thoughts and prayers

Leave a Reply

