A Continual Learning

Is it just me or do you get the sense that we have for a long time thought we’ve had it all figured out. I don’t mean that we admit it like that, but we talk about the church, Bible, worship, Holy Spirit, and that list could go on and on like we don’t have any more to learn about those things.

One of the most freeing things I’ve learned is the concept that I am in a constant state of learning–a continual learning. It’s freeing on several levels.

1. I don’t have to think any more that I have to have the right answer on any given subject. That freedom leads to the next.

2. Since I don’t have to have the right answers, I don’t even believe that having the right answers is the purpose of our being.

3. I can seriously believe that there just might be someone else who can teach me. I don’t have to always be teaching, but I have to be ever learning.

4. Since I’m continually learning, there might be some new things for me to see. Since that has become a reality for me, I’ve begun to see some new things. It’s almost like opening up to the Spirit’s leading has given new insight to what God is doing in the world.

5. Jesus went to where the people who needed him were.  He looked for opportunities to serve them and therefore save them.

I am looking forward to what God has in store. I pray for Him to continue to reveal to me my place in the story.

5 responses to “A Continual Learning

  • gregengland

    This is called maturity. It takes most of us preachers a long time to figure out we’re just not as wise as we’d like to think we are. We’ve spent generations trying to “restore” the church as if it (1) needed to be restored and (2) we could actually pull that off! God’s church has survived in spite of our attempts to restore it. One of the most liberating insights in my 30 years of preaching was to finally figure out that God did not send Jesus so that I could be right on ever issue. I, too, am looking forward to what God has in store for you and for me. These past few months have been a walk of faith unlike any other in my life. And I know your last year or so has been that way. What I’d like to see more than anything is for Jesus to return!

  • Sonny Owens

    I Amen the last 3 words.

  • Keith Davis

    Thanks Greg. I appreciate your struggle and the fact that you are willing to share it. I will pray that God lead you through it. When it gets right down to it, all of this is truly a walk of faith. If we could see the future, we would not have to trust. I have struggled, but I have not yet missed a meal, been kicked out of my house, or had to give up my transportation. I’d say I am being blessed. Thanks for your encouragement and Praise God!!

  • cwinwc

    I’m going to double amen Greg’s last 3 words.

  • Meowmix

    Triple amen!

    Having Landon Saunders in my life as a preacher/teacher during my teenage years, and I’ve gone back over and over to different things he said. But one of those things I remember him saying was, “We are all too full of answers.”

Leave a Reply

