Do-Overs

As kids we used to play backyard football. We played lots of backyard football. We had a rule that if the kick-off went out of bounds, the kicker would get a do-over. It was kind of a mercy rule for the kicker.

Wouldn’t it be nice to get that kind of option in life? It would really be cool if when we made a mistake, someone might say, “That’s OK, you get a do-over.”

Today I worked on my youngest kids’ pictures for graduation. That’s right. My youngest, who are twins, are finishing their last year of high school. It seems unbelievable.

As I looked through pictures, I was once again flooded with memories. Basketball, baseball, softball, birthday parties, playing in the park, and on and on.

Those times in our life were so happy, yet I remember times when we struggled too. I would see pictures that caused me to feel regret at some of my actions and many that would make me laugh.

While I was in this picture process, Danielle, our middle daughter came by and we watched some old videos. I made the statement, “If I could go back, I’d sure do some things different.”

The tough thing is, we don’t get do-overs in life. We can, however, do better for the rest of the time we have left. Learning from our mistakes and the mistakes of others, is extremely valuable.

One thing I’d do different is the pressure I put on my kids to achieve in sports. I was really hard on them and pushed them a little too much. I especially did that to Brandon. I expected him to be the best. That’s OK to a point, but I might have gone overboard. To this day, he is super competitive.

What about you? What might you change if you could get a do-over?

3 responses to “Do-Overs

  • Donna

    I would just spend more time listening and enjoying them. I did always play with my kids, but I would have spent more time teaching and guiding and sharing important thoughts and dreams with them.

    They are still my joy….

  • Brenda

    I would do everything different. I really mean everything!

  • Meowmix

    I’ve always heard: “If I could go back and know what I know now, I would…..thus and so.” There are so many things I’d do a different way, if I could go back and know what I know now, that the telling of them would fill books! However, I believe every morning that we wake up is in fact a “do-over.” When we know we have messed up, we can pray, God forgives us, and we get to try again……………………….

Leave a Reply

