An Apology — An Encouragement

I had an encounter tonight that was a true blessing.  A gentleman came up to me and said, “I’ve been needing to talk to you for some time.”  My first reaction was “Uh OH!”  But that was very short-lived.  His next statement was, “I have been needing to apologize to you for several years about something.”  He then proceeded to remind me about the incident.  If I remember correctly, the situation happened somewhere in the late nineties, possibly just after the year 2000.

I’m not going to tell the details of the situation, but it was a time in my life when I had just begun questioning the way we do church and when it happened, it served as a great learning experience for me.  It confirmed some things that I had  been thinking.  So, in a weird sort of way, I learned that God’s freedom was a great deal bigger than I had imagined, even thought the situation hurt me deeply at the time.  I told the gentleman tonight that, at the very least, he did come to me.  He was glad that I had learned from it.  I told him that I was grateful for his words of apology and that all was forgotten.

One of the things he told me was, “I am not that same guy any more.”  We discussed a few things and he left.  His conscience had been cleared and I had a greater respect for him too.  It was a win win deal.

He is about the third c of C preacher in the last month who has contacted me with this “feeling” that we were getting it all wrong.  Interestingly, I’ve talked to all three about changing the situation.  Sadly, they are stuck in a system that will, at the very least, hinder them and, at the very most, completely stop them from ever changing.  I even ask him tonight, “Why is it that we realize the problem, but never change?”  He just shrugged his shoulders and looked disappointed.  Sad.

I am looking forward to the day when I myself will make the move.  I hope that won’t be long.  God is waiting, I believe, for those of us who know that established religion is from Satan, to break free and get involved in our world for Jesus.

One response to “An Apology — An Encouragement

  • Donna

    I have not got free of all organized religion, but I will tell you there is great freedom in worshipping where the grace of God is THE important thing. Where all ideas and opinions are honored when they are Christ centered.

    There is indeed a freedom in Christ….I have started to live in it and thrive in it.
    You will too, but years of the bondage are hard to break.

Leave a Reply

