Peace

One of the phrases we here in this season of Christmas is “peace on earth.”  How we all wish that could happen!  No more wars.  No more arguments.  No more divorce.  No more murder. And that list could extend for a long time.  If we could just get there, how much different would life be for us all?

What about personal peace?  I have been in a place in my own life where personal peace had left me.  It was a feeling of despair, loneliness, depression, and fear.  I don’t like being there.  None of us do.  Just think of the millions of dollars spent on helping people find peace in our world–self-help books, counsellors, medications, psychiatrists, and more.

Generally speaking, I think that our inability to find peace lies from within.  It’s a choice ultimately that has roots in where we place our faith.  The things I struggle with the most have to do with the things of this world–finances, stuff, transportation, popularity, and on and on.  We put lots of stock in our world and the stuff that is here.  We even put stipulations on our prayers.  We tell God, “I need _______ and you need to give it to me because I’m _______.”

It could be that our desire for peace centers more on “earthly peace” rather than “heavenly peace.”  Peace is a spiritual matter and is connected to spiritual things.  Please don’t because I say these things that I think I’ve got it all together. Just read the past year’s worth of blogs from me and you know that’s not the case.  So, when I say these things, I’m primarily speaking to me.  Peace has escaped me before and I don’t want that to happen ever again.  It nearly costed me my faith! 

Here is an encouragement for us all.  Philippians 4:6-7  “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done.  Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.”

I believe the peace spoken of here exceeds all understanding because of the disconnect with this world.  That kind of peace can only be spiritual and achieved only through spiritual means–namely Jesus Christ.  We live in a place where we will never–I said NEVER– be fully satisfied.  That’s one of our problems now.  We are so satisfied here, we don’t look forward to being with Him there! Let us all find our peace in Him so that whether here or there, we will be at peace with him.

I pray that my contentment can be that of the apostle Paul.  He said, “I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”  That would be peace!

2 responses to “Peace

  • gregengland

    Paul’s contentment is easy to preach, but when you read the latter part of 2 Cor.11, he reveals the curriculum required for that contentment! I want the contentment without having to go through the trials and it just doesn’t work that way.

    Read a devotional earlier today that said Jesus gave us all the necessities for peace, but it’s up to us to make it happen in our lives.

    I hope you (and I) have a peaceful 2011, my friend.

  • Meowmix

    So much of the time, your thoughts mirror my own………..

Leave a Reply

