The New Year! In With A Bang!

I don’t know about you, but this time of year seems surreal.  Most of the time, I look at a new year as a time of renewal.  It is generally talked about by many in a positive way.  My personal opinion (for what it’s worth) is that people by in large feel that, as a new year begins, things are going to get better–no matter how things were before.  Whether we admit it or not, we all tend to resolve to do better in some area of our lives.

My new year started with a bang!  LITERALLY!  Our band had a New Year’s eve party to play for a private company.  I haven’t played in so long that I really looked forward to this one.  I had borrowed a sound system from a friend who lived about an hour from where we do.  I borrowed another friend’s truck to go and get it.  To make a really long story short, when I arrived at my house at 2am, I was pulling into my driveway (after a long heavy rain).  I decided since I was pulling a trailer I would circle one of my trees so as to be facing out and not have to back the trailer.  BAD IDEA!When I hit the slick ground, the trailer, which had no brakes, pushed my friend’s truck into one of our trees!  Being two o’clock in the morning, I just shut the door and went to bed.  I dealt with it all after daylight.

With that kind of beginning, one is tempted to think that it’s going to be a not-so-great-year!  However, I’m trying to not let it get me down.  God is still in control.  Jesus is still Lord, The Holy Spirit is still giving me life, and I’m still blessed with my family and so much more!

I still think it’s going to be a great year!  I pray that you are blessed as well.  Happy new year!

4 responses to “The New Year! In With A Bang!

Leave a Reply

