The Rigors of High School

I really don’t even know what “rigors” means exactly, but it sure sounded good in this title.  I think it indicates that high school was a very daunting task.  So, that being the case, you do understand the sarcasm of the title.

High school was anything but rigorous (wow there’s another form of that word) for me.  I guess the school work was kind of hard, but it just never bothered me being a “CD” student, and you know I’m not talking about “compact discs.”  They weren’t around yet.

I struggled with math, history, and science.  English was never a difficult thing for me.  I seemed to be able to get through it with good grades.  I remember doing well in business math, but once they started putting letters with numbers, I was done!  For some reason, I didn’t care what “X” was–and still don’t for that matter.

I guess the real rigors of high school for me was my dating life.  I dated the same girl for the last 2 1/2 years.  We got pretty serious, but it never panned out.  We dated through about half of my senior year and she decided to broaden her horizons.  Found out she was going out with other guys.  I thought my life had ended.  

I did what a lot of people do with dating.  I thought that I was not good enough for any one else.  I thought no one wanted this overweight, big-eared, freckle-faced person.  I think I tended to forget that I had talent to play drums, had a great sense of humor and was, for the most part and honest upstanding feller.  

It’s funny how time fixes things.  I met the love of my life and married her.  We’ve now married 29 years.  My high school sweetheart went on to be married several times.  I’m not judging her.  I feel bad for her.  But I’m so glad that things worked out the way they did.  God is good!!

One response to “The Rigors of High School

Leave a Reply

